Yvan Muller joins Volvo WTCC project as development driver

Multiple champion Yvan Muller has joined Volvo's World Touring Car Championship project as its development driver and senior advisor

Muller claimed four titles during an 11-season spell in the WTCC, but called time on his career in the series at the end of 2016 after a three-year stint with Citroen, where he played an important part in the development of its all-conquering C-Elysee.

Muller has been working with Volvo over the winter, and joined its WTCC operation in an official capacity on January 1.

The Frenchman tested one of the marque's S60 Polestars at the Algarve circuit at the beginning of February, but was quick to quash any talk of a full-time racing programme with the Swedish manufacturer.

As part of his duties, the 47-year-old has been present at all of the team's tests and will take on driving responsibilities during the official pre-season test at Monza next week.

"To start a cooperation with Cyan Racing is something that I am very pleased with," said Muller.

"They developed strongly last year for their first season and we have made interesting progress during the winter testing.

"I look forward to continuing to work with them and developing the car, as well as the team."

Volvo entered two cars in the championship last year, its first as a fully-fledged manufacturer with Polestar Racing, but confirmed its planned expansion to three cars last week with the announcement that Lada refugee Nick Catsburg and Argentinian Super TC2000 champion Nestor Girolami would join Thed Bjork in its line-up for the coming season.


Independents' champion Mehdi Bennani has confirmed his participation in the WTCC this season, remaining with Sebastien Loeb Racing.

Bennani finished fifth overall in the drivers' championship last year in his second season in a privately-run C-Elysee with SLR, and he beat team-mate Tom Chilton to a first Independents' crown with two outright wins.

The Moroccan joins Chilton and John Filippi in being announced at the team for the 2017 season.


Honda: Tiago Monteiro, Norbert Michelisz, Ryo Michigami
Volvo: Thed Bjork, Nick Catsburg, Nestor Girolami
Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen: Mehdi Bennani, Tom Chilton, John Filippi
Munnich Motorsport Citroen: Rob Huff
Zengo Motorsport Honda: Aurelien Panis

Previous article Catsburg joins Bjork and Girolami in expanded 2017 Volvo WTCC team
Next article Lada back in World Touring Car Championship with Muller's nephew