Estering World Rallycross: Davy Jeanney dominates for Peugeot

Frenchman Davy Jeanney won the German round of World Rallycross Championship at the Estering for the factory-backed Peugeot-Hansen team

Estering World Rallycross: Davy Jeanney dominates for Peugeot

He topped the intermediate classification and won the first semi-final to start the final from pole position.

Jeanney made the best start and led from the beginning to the end, outpacing his rivals throughout.

"It's incredible," said Jeanney.

"This weekend has been incredible apart from one mistake in the fourth heat.

"This is my first win in five years, it's very special."

Also starting from the front row in the final, championship leader Petter Solberg was second after Turn 1 ahead of Volkswagen Sweden team-mates Johan Kristoffersson and Tord Linnerud.

While Kristoffersson would wait until the final opportunity to take his joker lap, Solberg did so on lap two and then caught and pressured the VW.

He was joined by Timmy Hansen, who had only been ninth overall after the heats but made it to the final third place in the first semi then took his joker on lap one.

When Kristoffersson finally went through the joker he fell behind Solberg and Hansen, who claimed second and third. The runner-up spot extends Solberg's championship lead.

Norwegian Andreas Bakkerud made a brilliant start from the back row of the final and made an optimistic move around the outside of the first corner, ending up in the gravel trap way off line.

Mattias Ekstrom's EKS team had a torrid weekend. Ekstrom himself didn't make the semi-finals while team-mate Anton Marklund crashed out before the first corner.

Tommy Rustad won the European Championship final, ahead of Jerome Grosset-Janin and Fabien Pailler.


Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Davy Jeanney Team Peugeot-Hansen Peugeot 3m45.662s
2 Petter Solberg SDRX Citroen 4.901s
3 Timmy Hansen Team Peugeot-Hansen Peugeot 5.538s
4 Johan Kristoffersson Volkswagen Team Sweden Volkswagen 5.815s
5 Tord Linnerud Volkswagen Team Sweden Volkswagen 11.231s
6 Andreas Bakkerud Olsbergs MSE Ford 10.188s
7 Reinis Nitiss Olsbergs MSE Ford 6 Laps
8 Manfred Stohl World RX Team Austria Ford 6 Laps
9 Robin Larsson Audi 6 Laps
10 Anton Marklund EKS Audi 6 Laps
11 Timur Timerzyanov Namus OMSE Ford 6 Laps
12 Rene Munnich Albatec Racing LTD Audi 6 Laps
13 Toomas Heikkinen Motorsport Volkswagen 6 Laps
14 Per-Gunnar Andersson Marklund Motorsport Volkswagen 6 Laps
15 Mattias Ekstrom EKS Audi 6 Laps
16 Alx Danielsson Munnich Motorsport Audi 6 Laps
17 Max Pucher World RX Team Austria Ford 6 Laps
- Tommy Rustad Marklund Motorsport Volkswagen Not classified
- Ollie O'Donovan Ford Not classified
- James Grint Albatec Racing LTD Peugeot Not classified
- Tamas Karai Racing-Com Kft. Skoda Not classified
- Peter Hedstrom Skoda Not classified
- Ramona Karlsson Ramona RX Volkswagen Not classified
- Lukas Walfridson Helmia Motorsport Renault Not classified
- Riku Tahko #Minisuomi Mini/BMW Not classified
- Mark Flaherty Ford Not classified
- Ole-Christian Veiby Volkswagen Team Sweden Volkswagen Not classified
- Frode Holte Frode Holte Motorsport Hyundai Not classified
- Joni-Pekka Rajala Marklund Motorsport Saab Not classified
- Jonathan Pailler Peugeot Not classified
- Jerome Grosset-Janin Per Eklund Motorsport Peugeot Not classified
- Fabien Pailler Peugeot Not classified
- Jorg Jockel Munnich Motorsport Ford Not classified
- Koen Pauwels Ford Not classified
- Jean-Baptiste Dubourg Citroen Not classified


Estering World Rallycross: Davy Jeanney tops heats despite crash

Ex-Champ Car star Patrick Carpentier gets Mini for World RX return