World Rallycross Trois Rivieres: Davy Jeanney takes second victory

In a dramatic finale to the Canadian round of the World Rallycross Championship at Trois-Rivieres, Peugeot-Hansen driver Davy Jeanney scored his second victory of the season

While the Frenchman made the best start in the final, took his joker on lap five and led from start to finish, it was in the first semi-final where the drama unfolded.

Jeanney's team-mate, Timmy Hansen started on pole in semi-final one having been fastest in the three of the four qualifying heats, with championship leader Petter Solberg alongside.

In the run to the first corner, Hansen and Solberg made contact, Hansen hitting the wall on the inside, breaking the front right suspension on his Peugeot.

On the exit of Turn 1, the pair made contact again, Solberg spinning into the wall on the inside while Hansen was squeezed into Reinis Nitiss.

With broken suspension, Hansen led for the following two corners, but with Nitiss alongside him over the first of the circuits jumps, Hansen landed badly, pushing Nitiss into the wall.

Both retired while Solberg would recover to finish fourth, marking the first time in World RX history the reigning champion wouldn't qualify for a place in the final.

Making a one-off appearance for the Munnich Motorsport team, Norwegian Tommy Rustad survived the first corner incident in the first semi-final to lead throughout and start on the front row of the final, while Jeanney led home Mattias Ekstrom in semi-final two.

As Jeanney led from the start of the final, Toomas Heikkinen made a move around the outside of Turn 1 to run second ahead of Rustad, who then took his joker lap, followed by Andreas Bakkerud and Ekstrom.

Up front, Heikkinen pushed Jeanney hard, while Tanner Foust ran on his own in third.

Heikkinen took his joker on lap three, losing second to Foust but coming out in front of Rustad.

Jeanney and Foust were the last to take their compulsory joker laps on the fifth tour, Jeanney maintaining the lead while Foust slotted back in third.

Heikkinen pressured Jeanney to the finish to head home Foust in a double podium for Marklund Motorsport.

Ekstrom spun out of fifth the closing stages, having earlier passed Bakkerud on the loose section.


Pos Driver Team Car Laps Gap
1 Davy Jeanney Team Peugeot-Hansen Peugeot 6 5m03.822s
2 Toomas Heikkinen Motorsport Volkswagen 6 0.252s
3 Tanner Foust Marklund Motorsport Volkswagen 6 1.666s
4 Tommy Rustad Munnich Motorsport Audi 6 5.277s
5 Andreas Bakkerud Olsbergs MSE Ford 6 6.403s
6 Mattias Ekstrom EKS Audi 6 12.586s
7 Timmy Hansen Team Peugeot-Hansen Peugeot 0 6 Laps
8 Petter Solberg SDRX Citroen 0 6 Laps
9 Reinis Nitiss Olsbergs MSE Ford 0 6 Laps
10 Manfred Stohl World RX Team Austria Ford 0 6 Laps
11 Johan Kristoffersson Volkswagen Team Sweden Volkswagen 0 6 Laps
12 Timur Timerzyanov Namus OMSE Ford 0 6 Laps
13 Anton Marklund EKS Audi 0 6 Laps
14 Patrick Carpentier JRM Mini/BMW 0 6 Laps
15 Liam Doran SDRX Citroen 0 6 Laps
16 Louis-Philippe Dumoulin JRM Mini/BMW 0 6 Laps
17 Rene Munnich Albatec Racing LTD Audi 0 6 Laps
18 Christoph Brugger World RX Team Austria Ford 0 6 Laps
19 Tord Linnerud Volkswagen Team Sweden Volkswagen 0 6 Laps
20 Robin Larsson Audi 0 6 Laps


Latvian capital Riga to join World Rallycross schedule in 2016

Guerlain Chicherit to race JRM Mini in two World Rallycross events