Moto2: Iannone dominates Assen Moto2

Andrea Iannone took his second dominant victory in the last three races as he decimated the opposition at Assen

Moto2: Iannone dominates Assen Moto2

The polesitting Speed Up rider briefly lost the lead to Ratthapark Wilairot off the line but was back in front within half a a lap.

After that there was no stopping Iannone, who pulled away with ease as he had at Mugello earlier this month. His final winning margin was 4.4 seconds.

In his wake, the focus was on Wilairot's efforts to secure his first podium at world championship level. He was passed by Toni Elias early on, but clung on behind the points leader and twice got back in front.

As they battled, Thomas Luthi edged ever closer, and by the final few laps it was a three-way battle. Once Luthi was hassling Wilairot, Elias was able to escape and cement his championship lead by claiming second.

Luthi and Wilairot repeatedly swapped third place on the last two laps, and eventually the Thai rider was denied a podium by just 0.083s.

Shoya Tomizawa and Julian Simon chased them home in fifth and sixth.

Silverstone winner Jules Cluzel was only seventh this time, fending off Mike di Meglio and Karel Abraham.

Fonsi Nieto briefly nudged into the podium battle in the opening laps but then tumbled down the order before retiring in the pits.

Pos Rider Bike Time/Gap 1. Andrea Iannone Speed Up 40m00.383s 2. Toni Elias Moriwaki + 4.492s 3. Thomas Luthi Moriwaki + 5.390s 4. Ratthapark Wilairot Bimota + 5.473s 5. Shoya Tomizawa Suter + 7.405s 6. Julian Simon Suter + 7.666s 7. Jules Cluzel Suter + 16.023s 8. Mike di Meglio Suter + 16.122s 9. Karel Abraham FTR + 16.959s 10. Yuki Takahashi Tech 3 + 19.601s 11. Scott Redding Suter + 20.187s 12. Simone Corsi Motobi + 20.423s 13. Gabor Talmacsi Speed Up + 21.358s 14. Mattia Pasini Motobi + 26.654s 15. Yonny Hernandez BQR + 34.024s 16. Alex Baldolini ICP + 34.045s 17. Claudio Corti Suter + 34.377s 18. Dominique Aegerter Suter + 34.481s 19. Stefan Bradl Suter + 37.283s 20. Alex de Angelis Scot + 42.525s 21. Vladimir Ivanov Moriwaki + 43.395s 22. Kenny Noyes Promo Harris + 46.784s 23. Sergio Gadea Pons Kalex + 46.796s 24. Niccolo Canepa Scot + 59.324s 25. Hector Faubel Suter + 1m00.168s 26. Robertino Pietri Suter + 1m01.868s 27. Raffaele de Rosa Tech 3 + 1m02.451s 28. Bernat Martinez Bimota + 1m07.317s 29. Vladimir Leonov Suter + 1m10.107s 30. Valentin Debise ADV + 1m37.619s 31. Mashel Al Naimi BQR + 1m41.035s 32. Joan Olive Promo Harris + 1m41.545s Retirements Xavier Simeon Moriwaki 23 laps Lukas Pesek Moriwaki 16 laps Arne Tode Suter 15 laps Roberto Rolfo Suter 14 laps Anthony West MZ 10 laps Fonsi Nieto Moriwaki 7 laps 
Moto2: Iannone takes pole, Debon injured

Previous article

Moto2: Iannone takes pole, Debon injured

Next article

Moto2: Iannone grabs pole by big margin

Moto2: Iannone grabs pole by big margin
Load comments