Marc Marquez wins Sachsenring Moto2 race ahead of Stefan Bradl

Marc Marquez edged a little closer to Stefan Bradl in the Moto2 championship by denying the German a home victory at the Sachsenring

Marc Marquez wins Sachsenring Moto2 race ahead of Stefan Bradl

125cc champion Marquez and Moto2 leader Bradl were the main protagonists in the lead battle throughout the race, with Marquez ahead until he ran wide at Turn 1 on lap 14.

He stayed with Bradl, though, and was able to retaliate with seven laps to go, before eventually edging away to clinch a third consecutive win with a 0.896-second cushion.

Alex de Angelis took his first podium of the season in third, having split Marquez and Bradl for a while without managing to nose into the lead.

Tom Luthi made it a four-bike lead pack for a while, though he was later edged back to fifth as Bradl's Kiefer team-mate Randy Krummenacher put on an impressive late charge to his best Moto2 result yet.

Yonny Hernandez also lost out to Krummenacher in the closing stages and finished a still Moto2 career-best sixth, having run with the leaders for a spell.

Scott Redding and Simone Corsi charged through from 23rd and 21st on the grid to seventh and eighth respectively.

Returnee Julian Simon crashed at the first corner in his first race back after breaking his leg at Catalunya, though he escaped without further injury.

Bradley Smith also ran off the road on the opening lap, and later crashed out for good while trying to fight back.

Front row starter Aleix Espargaro crashed out early in a high-side that saw him collect the unlucky Max Neukirchner.

Results - 29 laps: Pos Rider Team/Bike Time/Gap 1. Marc Marquez CatalunyaCaixa Suter 41m37.457s 2. Stefan Bradl Kiefer Kalex + 0.896s 3. Alex de Angelis JIR Motobi + 1.387s 4. Randy Krummenacher Kiefer Kalex + 3.413s 5. Thomas Luthi Paddock Suter + 4.185s 6. Yonny Hernandez Blusens FTR + 7.691s 7. Scott Redding Marc VDS Suter + 10.606s 8. Simone Corsi Ioda FTR + 10.667s 9. Jules Cluzel Forward Suter + 12.079s 10. Michele Pirro Gresini Moriwaki + 12.337s 11. Kenan Sofuoglu Technomag-CIP Suter + 13.197s 12. Dominique Aegerter Technomag-CIP Suter + 21.516s 13. Pol Espargaro Speed Up FTR + 21.652s 14. Andrea Iannone Speed Master Suter + 21.827s 15. Claudio Corti Italtrans Suter + 22.238s 16. Mike di Meglio Tech 3 + 22.359s 17. Alex Baldolini Forward Suter + 26.498s 18. Xavier Simeon Tech 3 + 30.137s 19. Mattia Pasini Ioda FTR + 34.023s 20. Kenny Noyes Avintia FTR + 34.188s 21. Jordi Torres Aspar Suter + 34.300s 22. Axel Pons Pons Kalex + 34.949s 23. Anthony West MZ + 49.149s 24. Santiago Hernandez SAG FTR + 49.902s 25. Ratthapark Wilairot SAG FTR + 53.180s 26. Robertino Pietri Italtrans Suter + 57.673s 27. Steven Odendaal MS Suter + 1m12.318s 28. Ricard Cardus QMMF Moriwaki + 1m12.943s 29. Tommaso Lorenzetti Castello FTR + 1 lap 30. Mashel Al Naimi QMMF Moriwaki + 1 lap Retirements: Yuki Takahashi Gresini Moriwaki 23 laps Esteve Rabat Blusens FTR 19 laps Bradley Smith Tech 3 15 laps Aleix Espargaro Pons Kalex 5 laps Max Neukirchner MZ 5 laps Valentin Debise Speed Up FTR 2 laps Julian Simon Aspar Suter 0 laps Mika Kallio Marc VDS Suter 0 laps 
Marc Marquez beats Stefan Bradl to Sachsering Moto2 pole
Previous article

Marc Marquez beats Stefan Bradl to Sachsering Moto2 pole

Next article

Marc Marquez makes it four Moto2 poles in five races at Brno

Marc Marquez makes it four Moto2 poles in five races at Brno
Load comments