Penske's Power wins after early woe, crash mars Pocono IndyCar race

Will Power secured his first victory of the IndyCar season for Team Penske, as the race at Pocono was abandoned for weather and featured a huge crash at the start

Power moved up to third before the race was red flagged on the opening lap after an incident that involved five of the cars in the top 10 including the driver second in the championship, Alexander Rossi.

When the race was getting ready to restart, Power had to pit because of an air pressure problem, putting him at the back of the grid.

He began to make his way to the top 10 before making his first pit stop around lap 41 of 200.

Luckily for the Penske driver the yellow flag came out while he was still in the pits, leading to him coming back on track in second behind team-mate Simon Pagenaud.

Power fell back to seventh place when he pitted under the third caution, but on fresher tyres was able to stay out for longer than the drivers in front of him.

With a thunderstorm heading to the track, Power made his final stop on lap 112 and kept the lead of the race ahead of Scott Dixon.

The race was put under caution for the final time and soon after red flagged for nearby lightning on lap 126, with the result being declared soon after because of the incoming storm.

The result is Power's first IndyCar win in nearly a year, since his 2018 victory at Gateway, and makes this his 13th consecutive IndyCar season with at least one win.

Chip Ganassi's Dixon ended in second for his fourth podium in a row.

He was running inside the top five for the opening half of the race, but moved into the lead after pitting a lap earlier than race leader Pagenaud - who eventually finished third - on lap 71.

Santino Ferrucci started 13th but quickly moved into fifth after the opening lap crash where he braved a high line to avoid the wreck happening lower down the racetrack.

The rookie driver was running as high as second place in the race and took a best finish of fourth when the race was declared.

Polesitter and championship leader Josef Newgarden ended the race in fifth after losing the lead to Pagenaud at the start then a few more places during the first round of pitstops.

Newgarden still extended his points lead as Rossi was involved in the lap one crash.

Takumo Sato collided with Rossi when they were running three-wide with Ryan Hunter-Reay entering Turn 2.

Sato and Reay collected Felix Rosenqvist who went airborne and landed on the tyre wall, while Sato's car flipped after contact again with Rossi.

James Hinchcliffe was also caught up in the incident, hitting the outside wall when trying to slow down.

Hunter-Reay, Rossi and Sato were released from the circuit medical centre almost immediately after the crash, while Rosenqvist was released just before the end of the race after heading to a nearby hospital for checks.

Race result

Pos Driver Team Car Laps Gap
1 Will Power Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 128 1h53m45.8296s
2 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 128 5.4688s
3 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 128 7.0950s
4 Santino Ferrucci Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 128 9.4697s
5 Josef Newgarden Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 128 10.1771s
6 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 128 15.4239s
7 Sebastien Bourdais Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 128 19.1641s
8 Tony Kanaan AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Chevrolet 128 23.3941s
9 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 128 25.2060s
10 Charlie Kimball Carlin Dallara/Chevrolet 128 27.4361s
11 Conor Daly Carlin Dallara/Chevrolet 128 29.2835s
12 Marcus Ericsson Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 128 32.6051s
13 Zach Veach Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 127 1 Lap
14 Matheus Leist AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Chevrolet 127 1 Lap
15 Marco Andretti Andretti Herta Dallara/Honda 126 2 Laps
16 Colton Herta Harding Racing Dallara/Honda 72 Contact
17 Spencer Pigot Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 39 Contact
18 Alexander Rossi Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 39 89 Laps
19 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 25 Contact
20 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 19 Contact
21 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 0 Contact
22 Felix Rosenqvist Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 0 Contact

Drivers' standings

Pos Driver Points
1 Josef Newgarden 535
2 Alexander Rossi 500
3 Simon Pagenaud 495
4 Scott Dixon 483
5 Will Power 407
6 Ryan Hunter-Reay 344
7 Graham Rahal 334
8 Takuma Sato 331
9 Felix Rosenqvist 304
10 Sebastien Bourdais 300
11 James Hinchcliffe 297
12 Santino Ferrucci 291
13 Spencer Pigot 278
14 Colton Herta 259
15 Marcus Ericsson 237
16 Marco Andretti 233
17 Zach Veach 223
18 Tony Kanaan 223
19 Matheus Leist 198
20 Ed Jones 187
21 Jack Harvey 153
22 Max Chilton 131
23 Ed Carpenter 121
24 Patricio O'Ward 115
25 Conor Daly 95
26 Charlie Kimball 52
27 Sage Karam 39
28 James Davison 36
29 Helio Castroneves 33
30 Ben Hanley 31
31 Pippa Mann 28
32 Kyle Kaiser 22
33 J.R. Hildebrand 20
34 Oriol Servia 16
35 R.C. Enerson 13
36 Jordan King 12

Previous article Pocono IndyCar qualifying cancelled, Newgarden on pole
Next article Sato under fire from IndyCar rivals for causing huge Pocono crash