Euro F3 Nurburgring: Schumacher wins race three to score hat-trick

Mick Schumacher became the first driver of 2018 to complete a Formula 3 European Championship weekend hat-trick with another supreme performance in the Nurburgring finale

Schumacher had to dart across to protect the inside line from the sister Prema Powerteam Dallara-Mercedes of Robert Shwartzman on the run to Turn 1 but, as he has done all weekend, showed crucial superiority over the Russian on cold tyres to build a 1.2-second lead by the end of lap one.

From then on Schumacher continued to extend his advantage by incremental margins, finally taking the chequered flag 4.9s clear of Ferrari protege Shwartzman, who in turn took his third runner-up position of the weekend.

Unlike in races one and two, when it was Dan Ticktum who was the closest challenger to the dominant Prema duo, this time it was Alex Palou who posed the biggest threat.

Ticktum had run very wide at Turn 1 in his Motopark car, and was then very tight at Turn 3, running wide again on the exit and allowing Palou into third.

Hitech GP driver Palou put pressure on Shwartzman at various stages of the race, but never got into a position to pose a serious threat.

Ticktum dropped back in fourth, and is now just three points clear of Schumacher at the top of the championship standings with two rounds remaining.

Marcus Armstrong was a race-long fifth in his Prema car, while Motopark's Juri Vips at last got some points on the board for the weekend with sixth place.

Eighth qualifier Vips got ahead of Ralf Aron at the start, and then took advantage of Sacha Fenestraz challenging Armstrong at the beginning of the third lap to pass the Frenchman for sixth.

Carlin man Fenestraz was seventh from Aron (Prema), Enaam Ahmed (Hitech) and Guan Yu Zhou (Prema) in a rather uneventful race.

Race result

Pos Driver Team Car Laps Gap
1 Mick Schumacher PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 25 34m25.147s
2 Robert Shwartzman PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 25 4.985s
3 Alex Palou Hitech Bullfrog GP Dallara/Mercedes 25 5.732s
4 Dan Ticktum Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 25 8.012s
5 Marcus Armstrong PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 25 8.950s
6 Juri Vips Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 25 10.656s
7 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 25 14.374s
8 Ralf Aron PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 25 18.416s
9 Enaam Ahmed Hitech Bullfrog GP Dallara/Mercedes 25 20.764s
10 Guanyu Zhou PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 25 21.326s
11 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 25 24.672s
12 Jonathan Aberdein Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 25 25.953s
13 Jehan Daruvala Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 25 27.682s
14 Fabio Scherer Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 25 31.707s
15 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 25 32.514s
16 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 25 35.371s
17 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 25 36.569s
18 Marino Sato Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 25 43.664s
19 Nikita Troitskiy Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 25 45.100s
20 Ben Hingeley Hitech Bullfrog GP Dallara/Mercedes 25 45.661s
21 Sophia Florsch Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 25 55.348s
- Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 11 Retirement
Previous article Euro F3 Nurburgring: Mick Schumacher dominates second race
Next article Prema Racing, ART Grand Prix sign up to 2019 FIA F3 Championship