Istanbul World Rallycross: Peugeot's Timmy Hansen takes victory

Peugeot-Hansen driver Timmy Hansen claimed his third World Rallycross Championship win of the season at Istanbul Park in Turkey

Istanbul World Rallycross: Peugeot's Timmy Hansen takes victory

The Swede qualified second to compatriot Mattias Ekstrom following the heats.

He then managed to win the second semi-final, despite losing the lead at the first corner to Reinis Nitiss and Robin Larsson, having to fight through the race with an exhaust leak and having a half spin while fighting for the lead with Johan Kristoffersson and Larsson.

Andreas Bakkerud beat Ekstrom to victory in the first semi-final and lined up next to Hansen on the front row of the final.

Starting on the inside, Hansen made the best start and took the advantage into the first corner, followed by Bakkerud and Ekstrom.

At the circuit's second hairpin, Davy Jeanney - who had scraped through to the final from semi-final two when Larsson spun amid last-lap contact - and EKS team-mates Anton Marklund and Ekstrom came together, with Ekstrom and Jeanney spinning while Marklund was forced to retire.

Up front, Bakkerud took his joker on the second lap while Hansen waited until the final opportunity.

Although Bakkerud began to hunt down Hansen, the Peugeot driver had done enough to return to the main cpurse just ahead, using his circuit racing experience to cover his line and protect the lead.

Kristoffersson claimed another podium in third, while Ekstrom recovered to pass Jeanney claim fourth at the finish.

Championship leader Petter Solberg's difficult weekend continued in the semi-final stages.

A driveshaft problem caused him to drop to the back of the pack from the start and he finished sixth, missing out on the final.

Hansen's win and a strong points haul cut Solberg's championship lead to 19 points with two rounds of the season to go.


Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Timmy Hansen Team Peugeot-Hansen Peugeot 6m02.470s
2 Andreas Bakkerud Olsbergs MSE Ford 0.277s
3 Johan Kristoffersson Volkswagen Team Sweden Volkswagen 2.470s
4 Mattias Ekstrom EKS Audi 9.562s
5 Davy Jeanney Team Peugeot-Hansen Peugeot 9.987s
6 Anton Marklund EKS Audi 6 Laps
7 Reinis Nitiss Olsbergs MSE Ford 6 Laps
8 Petter Solberg SDRX Citroen 6 Laps
9 Timur Timerzyanov Namus OMSE Ford 6 Laps
10 Robin Larsson Audi 6 Laps
11 Tord Linnerud Volkswagen Team Sweden Volkswagen 6 Laps
12 Rene Munnich Munnich Motorsport Audi 6 Laps
13 Manfred Stohl World RX Team Austria Ford 6 Laps
14 Toomas Heikkinen Marklund Motorsport Volkswagen 6 Laps
15 Alexander Hvaal JC Raceteknik Citroen 6 Laps
16 Kristian Sohlberg Albatec Racing LTD Peugeot 6 Laps
17 Janis Baumanis Hansen Talent Development Peugeot 6 Laps
18 Max Pucher World RX Team Austria Ford 6 Laps
19 Alx Danielsson Munnich Motorsport Audi 6 Laps
20 Per-Gunnar Andersson Marklund Motorsport Volkswagen 6 Laps
21 Liam Doran SDRX Citroen 6 Laps


Istanbul World Rallycross: Audi's Mattias Ekstrom ahead after heats

BTCC race winner Tom Onslow-Cole wants more rallycross outings