Ambrose's Oran Park Pole

Reigning champion Marcos Ambrose took his second consecutive pole with the fastest lap in both qualifying and the shootout at Oran Park Raceway

Ford driver Ambrose was fastest, ahead of Holden driver Rick Kelly who set the second fastest time after struggling in qualifying at recent rounds of the series.

Holden's Mark Skaife will start third with last round winner Craig Lowndes next ahead of Ambrose's teammate Russell Ingall, one place ahead of Steven Richards who sits second in points.

The biggest surprise in qualifying was Jason Richards, whose car was nearly destroyed in an incident with Paul Morris at the previous round at Queensland Raceway. Richards was a stunning third in qualifying before dropping to tenth in the shootout, three places behind Morris who also made the top ten.

Holden drivers Greg Murphy and Paul Weel, starting in 18th and 30th, were the only front runners to struggle.

Qualifying Results, Oran Park Raceway:

Pos  Driver              Car
 1.  Marcos Ambrose      Ford Falcon BA
 2.  Rick Kelly          Holden Commodore VZ
 3.  Mark Skaife         Holden Commodore VZ
 4.  Craig Lowndes       Ford Falcon BA
 5.  Russell Ingall      Ford Falcon BA
 6.  Steven Richards     Holden Commodore VY
 7.  Paul Morris         Holden Commodore VZ
 8.  Garth Tander        Holden Commodore VZ
 9.  Steven Johnson      Ford Falcon BA
10.  Jason Richards      Holden Commodore VZ
11.  John Bowe           Ford Falcon BA
12.  Todd Kelly          Holden Commodore VZ
13.  Max Wilson          Holden Commodore VZ
14.  Jamie Whincup       Holden Commodore VZ
15.  Jason Bright        Ford Falcon BA
16.  Paul Radisich       Holden Commodore VZ
17.  Jason Bargwanna     Ford Falcon BA
18.  Greg Murphy         Holden Commodore VZ
19.  Cameron McConville  Holden Commodore VZ
20.  Glenn Seton         Ford Falcon BA
21.  Brad Jones          Ford Falcon BA
22.  Simon Wills         Holden Commodore VZ
23.  Mark Winterbottom   Ford Falcon BA
24.  Paul Dumbrell       Holden Commodore VY
25.  David Besnard       Ford Falcon BA
26.  Steve Owen          Ford Falcon BA
27.  Greg Ritter         Ford Falcon BA
28.  Anthony Tratt       Holden Commodore VY
29.  Andrew Jones        Holden Commodore VZ
30.  Paul Weel           Holden Commodore VZ
31.  Alex Davison        Holden Commodore VZ
32.  Matthew White       Ford Falcon BA
33.  Craig Baird         Ford Falcon BA
Previous article Lowndes Scores Queensland Win
Next article Richards Wins Race 1