Holdsworth wins, Courtney takes title

A last-lap change of lead saw Fujitsu Racing's Lee Holdsworth take victory in race two of the Sydney Telstra 500 on the streets of Homebush, but further down the field 14th place was enough for James Courtney to claim the 2010 V8 Supercar title

Holdsworth wins, Courtney takes title

Holdsworth led until the second safety car period, when most but not all of the field made pitstops. As the race wound down and other drivers made stops, he moved back up towards the front, taking second place with 13 laps to go, and chased down leader Shane van Gisbergen.

Van Gisbergen was in fuel conservation mode, hoping to stretch it to the finish. With less than half a lap remaining, his engine coughed, allowing Holdsworth and Steven Richards past to take first and second place, Holdsworth's second career victory was deserved after pole position in the last three races at the Homebush track.

All but out of fuel, van Gisbergen struggled to the line, holding out Steven Johnson by 0.0198 seconds at the chequered flag, with Johnson having to swerve wildly to avoid him in the confined area near the chequered flag.

One place behind Johnson was 2008 and 2009 series champion Whincup, who was right behind Holdsworth at the second safety car but chose to stay out rather than pit. The decision cost him ground, but in the end it made little difference, as Courtney's finishing position meant even a win would not have won Whincup his third successive title.

Team-mate Craig Lowndes, Rick Kelly, Michael Caruso, Garth Tander and Jonathon Webb completed the top 10 runners, but it was the driver in 14th place, Courtney, who was the big winner apart from Holdsworth.

It wasn't a pretty race for Courtney - a crumpled bonnet proving testament to that, and he had also fallen back to 26th when a wheel nut stuck at his first pitstop and he went back out with the same right rear tyre on he had come in with.

But a safety car soon after allowed him to pit and replace the tyre, and also allowed him more flexibility strategy-wise than most of the rest of the field. From there, all Courtney needed to do was stay on the lead lap as other cars fell out of the race and though it wasn't one of his his best races, it was (more than) enough to ensure he won the title, 65 points ahead of Whincup.

After heading into the weekend with a chance of winning the title, fellow Ford driver Mark Winterbottom was just behind his team-mate Steven Richards when his engine let go, giving him his second DNF in two days.

Pos Driver Make Time 1. Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE2 2h03m58.6442s 2. Steven Richards Ford Falcon FG + 1.5358s 3. Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG + 8.4239s 4. Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG + 8.4437s 5. Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 + 10.2476s 6. Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 + 13.4918s 7. Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 + 16.0408s 8. Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE2 + 16.2850s 9. Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 + 19.8472s 10. Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG + 22.8910s 11. Tony D'Alberto Holden Commodore VE2 + 23.8604s 12. Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE2 + 24.8702s 13. Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 + 27.5751s 14. James Courtney Ford Falcon FG + 29.7892s 15. Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG + 30.6741s 16. Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG + 34.5637s 17. Tony Ricciardello Holden Commodore VE2 + 40.5472s 18. Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE2 + 45.8667s 19. Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE + 56.0602s 20. Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE2 + 1m20.1665s 21. Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE2 + 2 laps 22. Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE2 + 4 laps 23. Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG + 15 laps Not classified/retirements: Driver Make Laps Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 65 Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 58 Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE2 54 Will Davison Holden Commodore VE2 47 Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE 44 Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE2 37 
Holdsworth takes race two pole

Previous article

Holdsworth takes race two pole

Next article

Courtney joins Holden Racing Team

Courtney joins Holden Racing Team
Load comments

About this article

Series Supercars
Drivers James Courtney , Lee Holdsworth
Author David Wright
Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske? Plus

Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske?

OPINION: Roger Penske's operation helped lift Dick Johnson's faltering Ford team back to the top of Australian tin-tops. But, despite The Captain's departure, along with star driver Scott McLaughlin, there's no reason to expect an imminent decline from DJR

Feb 26, 2021
Why Whincup's next move is no calculated gamble Plus

Why Whincup's next move is no calculated gamble

Supercars' most successful team of the past 15 years is set for a radical shakeup next year when Jamie Whincup retires from driving and takes over the reins at Triple Eight. But the team's outgoing boss Roland Dane has full faith that he'll be up to the task

Feb 5, 2021
The top 10 Supercars drivers of 2020 Plus

The top 10 Supercars drivers of 2020

In a year of few constants, the Australian Supercars championship could be relied upon for its usual blend of rough and tumble racing with a V8 soundtrack. But who were its top performers in 2020?

Dec 27, 2020
The 'lifetime deal' that broke down in double quick time Plus

The 'lifetime deal' that broke down in double quick time

Last year, David Reynolds signed a decade-long deal with Erebus, seemingly pledging his long-term Supercars future to the team. One year on, "Decade Dave's" contract has been reduced to tatters, with an undercurrent of discontent having brewed in 2020

Dec 18, 2020
How Supercars now needs a new "human salt harvester" Plus

How Supercars now needs a new "human salt harvester"

Scott McLaughlin has been a divisive figure in Supercars over the past few years but, as he heads off to a fresh challenge in IndyCar, the Australian tin-top series needs to find someone else to fill his dramatic boots as the category enters a new era

Oct 30, 2020
Why McLaughlin is wrong to label 2020 his best title Plus

Why McLaughlin is wrong to label 2020 his best title

OPINION: Scott McLaughlin was quick to describe his third Supercars title as his best yet. But even though it didn't match the dramatic backstory of his 2018 triumph, there's a good reason for him wanting to control the narrative this time around

Oct 2, 2020
Why Supercars would settle for an anticlimactic title race Plus

Why Supercars would settle for an anticlimactic title race

It's a predicament that has faced the World Endurance Championship in the past, and now it's the turn of Supercars to have its biggest race - the Bathurst 1000 - taking the final slot on the calendar. Will its wider significance upstage the title battle?

Sep 4, 2020
The 10-year wait for a Supercars champion halted by coronavirus Plus

The 10-year wait for a Supercars champion halted by coronavirus

When the Supercars season resumes James Courtney will be a Tickford Racing driver - but it's not the first time the star driver has flirted with the famous Ford squad

May 18, 2020