Lowndes Scores Queensland Win

Craig Lowndes has taken his second round victory of the season as he held off Marcos Ambrose to win the Queensland 300 at Queensland Raceway

Lowndes Scores Queensland Win

Lowndes' win backed up his round win at Barbagallo in May. Second place for Marcos Ambrose extended his lead in the championship to 105 points over Steven Richards, with Russell Ingall and Todd Kelly still close behind in third and fourth. Mark Skaife remained in fifth but lost ground after finishing in twelfth place.

The start of the race saw Lowndes and Ambrose break away at the front, with Russell Ingall third, with the HRT duo of Todd Kelly and Mark Skaife not far behind.

An early safety car period for a stationary Greg Ritter saw most of the field, including all the front-runners, make their compulsory pit stop for tyres. Ambrose and Lowndes swap positions as Ambrose chose to take four tyres, while his teammate Ingall lost time in the pits to drop to fifteenth.

The race restarted on lap 17, with five cars yet to pit led by Max Wilson at the front, ahead of Lowndes, Ambrose, Todd Kelly, Garth Tander and Steven Richards.

Skaife, having lost positions in the pit stops after having to queue behind his teammate, compounded his problems by spinning at turn one on lap 28, dropping him from tenth to 25th.

Up front the race was quiet, teams just beginning to make their compulsory fuel stops around half distance when the safety car returned to the track. It came on as a result of an incident on the exit of turn three between Jason Richards and Paul Morris which resulted in Richards' car destroying itself in a series of rolls. Later in the race an angry Morris was given a 60 second stop-go penalty for the incident.

As a result of this safety car all the drivers yet to take fuel dived for the pits. As the race resumed on lap 51 it was still Lowndes and Ambrose at the front, Todd Kelly in third ahead of Tander and Ingall, Kelly dropping to fifth by the end of the lap as Tander and Ingall passed him, Steven Richards taking fifth from Kelly a lap later.

A late race safety car period made no difference to the result, Lowndes just a little too fast for Ambrose, while Tander just managed to hold off Ingall for third, with Steven Richards in fifth.

Result of Queensland 300, Queensland Raceway:

Pos  Driver              Car
 1.  Craig Lowndes       Ford Falcon BA
 2.  Marcos Ambrose      Ford Falcon BA
 3.  Garth Tander        Holden Commodore VZ
 4.  Russell Ingall      Ford Falcon BA
 5.  Steven Richards     Holden Commodore VY
 6.  Todd Kelly          Holden Commodore VZ
 7.  Steve Ellery        Ford Falcon BA
 8.  Greg Murphy         Holden Commodore VZ
 9.  Jason Bright        Ford Falcon BA
10.  Steven Johnson      Ford Falcon BA
11.  Glenn Seton         Ford Falcon BA
12.  Mark Skaife         Holden Commodore VZ
13.  David Besnard       Ford Falcon BA
14.  Max Wilson          Holden Commodore VZ
15.  Rick Kelly          Holden Commodore VZ
16.  Craig Baird         Ford Falcon BA
17.  Cameron McConville  Holden Commodore VZ
18.  Paul Dumbrell       Holden Commodore VY
19.  Jason Bargwanna     Ford Falcon BA
20.  Brad Jones          Ford Falcon BA
21.  Andrew Jones        Holden Commodore VZ
22.  John Bowe           Ford Falcon BA
23.  Simon Wills         Holden Commodore VZ
24.  Steve Owen          Ford Falcon BA
25.  Mark Winterbottom   Ford Falcon BA
26.  Paul Morris         Holden Commodore VZ
27.  Matthew White       Ford Falcon BA
28.  Jamie Whincup       Holden Commodore VZ
29.  Paul Radisich       Holden Commodore VZ
DNF  Anthony Tratt       Holden Commodore VY
DNF  Jason Richards      Holden Commodore VZ
DNF  Paul Weel           Holden Commodore VZ
DNF  Greg Ritter         Ford Falcon BA
DNF  Alex Davison        Holden Commodore VZ
Ambrose on Queensland Pole
Previous article

Ambrose on Queensland Pole

Next article

Ambrose's Oran Park Pole

Ambrose's Oran Park Pole
When Nissan ruled Australia with its 'Godzilla' Group A special Plus

When Nissan ruled Australia with its 'Godzilla' Group A special

The Nissan Skyline R32 GT-R was the fastest Group A touring car ever. It cleaned up at the Bathurst 1000 and in the Australian Touring Car Championship, and is fondly remembered by the drivers who monstered it to success on the world-famous Mount Panorama

Feb 8, 2022
Ranking the top 10 Supercars drivers of 2021 Plus

Ranking the top 10 Supercars drivers of 2021

It may have been a one-man title fight in Supercars this season, but behind dominant champion Shane van Gisbergen were some fascinating performances. Autosport picks out the best drivers of the 2021 campaign.

Dec 10, 2021
The well-travelled racer now Supercars' elder statesman Plus

The well-travelled racer now Supercars' elder statesman

James Courtney has been around the block in his motorsport career it's fair to say. After a single-seater career cut short, he's won everything there is to win in Supercars. Following a rocky ride recently in the Australian category, he's found a happy hunting ground with Tickford Racing, as Andrew van Leeuwen explains

Oct 19, 2021
How taming his temper shaped Supercars' slow-burn star Plus

How taming his temper shaped Supercars' slow-burn star

His decision to leave Brad Jones Racing was the biggest shock of the Australian Supercars silly season so far. But for Nick Percat, it comes as the culmination of a personal journey that has made him into one of the most rounded drivers in the series, now in search of a seat that can make him a champion

Sep 16, 2021
Why replacing Supercars' GOAT with a teenager is worth the risk for T8 Plus

Why replacing Supercars' GOAT with a teenager is worth the risk for T8

On the face of it, picking an 18-year-old rookie to replace arguably the greatest Supercars driver of all time is a risky move. But as Jamie Whincup takes up a team principal role and hands his car to Broc Feeney, it's one that he is confident will be rewarded in the fullness of time - time which wasn't afforded to Whincup in his early days

Aug 31, 2021
Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske? Plus

Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske?

OPINION: Roger Penske's operation helped lift Dick Johnson's faltering Ford team back to the top of Australian tin-tops. But, despite The Captain's departure, along with star driver Scott McLaughlin, there's no reason to expect an imminent decline from DJR

Feb 26, 2021
Why Whincup's next move is no calculated gamble Plus

Why Whincup's next move is no calculated gamble

Supercars' most successful team of the past 15 years is set for a radical shakeup next year when Jamie Whincup retires from driving and takes over the reins at Triple Eight. But the team's outgoing boss Roland Dane has full faith that he'll be up to the task

Feb 5, 2021
The top 10 Supercars drivers of 2020 Plus

The top 10 Supercars drivers of 2020

In a year of few constants, the Australian Supercars championship could be relied upon for its usual blend of rough and tumble racing with a V8 soundtrack. But who were its top performers in 2020?

Dec 27, 2020