Moto2: Marquez claims first Moto2 victory

Reigning 125cc champion Marc Marquez put the troubled start to his Moto2 career behind him with a very strong ride to victory at Le Mans

Moto2: Marquez claims first Moto2 victory

Incidents in the first three rounds meant Marquez had not even scored prior to the French event, and in the early laps today he was at the tail of a lead train also featuring polesitter and points leader Stefan Bradl, Thomas Luthi, Yuki Takahashi, Julian Simon, Aleix Espargaro, Simone Corsi and Bradley Smith.

Marquez worked his way forward until at half-distance he was in the thick of things as Luthi stormed past Bradl to lead at the first corner, and Bradl then fell to fourth behind Takahashi and Marquez while trying to fight back.

With six laps to go, Marquez edged ahead of Luthi to lead at the first corner, but the Interwetten rider was able to hang on alongside and get back ahead into the next left-hander.

Next time around though, Marquez pulled off the move more emphatically, and then started pulling away as the trio behind battled.

His final winning margin was 1.9 seconds over Takahashi, with Bradl getting a podium position in the end, just ahead of Simon and Luthi.

Espargaro faded to a lonely sixth, while Corsi beat Dominique Aegerter, Smith and Alex de Angelis to seventh.

Andrea Iannone, who started the weekend as Bradl's closest championship rival, crashed out in a solo incident on the first lap.

Results - 26 laps: Pos Rider Team/Bike Time/Gap 1. Marc Marquez Catalunya Suter 43m03.308s 2. Yuki Takahashi Gresini Moriwaki + 1.982s 3. Stefan Bradl Kiefer Kalex + 2.237s 4. Julian Simon Aspar Suter + 2.349s 5. Thomas Luthi Interwetten Suter + 2.609s 6. Aleix Espargaro Pons Kalex + 12.295s 7. Simone Corsi Ioda FTR + 18.739s 8. Dominique Aegerter Technomag-CIP Suter + 18.918s 9. Bradley Smith Tech 3 + 20.408s 10. Alex de Angelis JIR Motobi + 20.566s 11. Jules Cluzel Forward Suter + 23.225s 12. Randy Krummenacher Kiefer Kalex + 23.359s 13. Pol Espargaro Speed Up FTR + 23.676s 14. Michele Pirro Gresini Moriwaki + 24.756s 15. Max Neukirchner MZ + 25.063s 16. Scott Redding Marc VDS Suter + 29.587s 17. Kenny Noyes Avintia-Stx FTR + 32.803s 18. Xavier Simeon Tech 3 + 32.997s 19. Raffaele de Rosa G22 Moriwaki + 33.273s 20. Yonny Hernandez Blusens FTR + 34.837s 21. Esteve Rabat Blusens FTR + 35.765s 22. Claudio Corti Italtrans Suter + 41.502s 23. Mattia Pasini Ioda FTR + 49.702s 24. Ratthapark Wilairot Thai Honda FTR + 50.198s 25. Anthony West MZ + 50.789s 26. Kenan Sofuoglu Technomag-CIP Suter + 51.362s 27. Kev Coghlan Castello FTR + 51.471s 28. Valentin Debise Speed Up FTR + 1m01.904s 29. Javier Fores Aspar Suter + 1m14.039s 30. Robertino Pietri Italtrans Suter + 1m14.338s 31. Mashel Al Naimi QMMF Moriwaki + 1m28.827s 32. Alexander Cudlin QMMF Moriwaki + 1m29.889s Retirements: Mike di Meglio Tech 3 24 laps Axel Pons Pons Kalex 23 laps Ricard Cardus QMMF Moriwaki 19 laps Steven Odendaal MS Suter 14 laps Alex Baldolini Forward Suter 11 laps Mika Kallio Marc VDS Suter 4 laps Andrea Iannone Speed Master Suter 0 laps Santiago Hernandez SAG FTR 0 laps 
Moto2: Bradl takes fourth consecutive pole

Previous article

Moto2: Bradl takes fourth consecutive pole

Next article

Moto2: Bradl continues Moto2 pole run

Moto2: Bradl continues Moto2 pole run
Load comments