Moto2: Bradl takes fourth consecutive pole

Moto 2 championship leader Stefan Bradl took pole position for the fourth round at Le Mans

Moto2: Bradl takes fourth consecutive pole

The German, who has won twice so far already this season, took his fourth consecutive pole position with a lap of 1m38.357s.

Behind the Kalex rider, Thomas Luthi came out top of a massive battle for second. The Swiss' lap time of 1m38.402s just a tenth faster than Yuki Takahashi and Aleix Espergaro.

Briton Scott Redding was fifth fastest on the Marc VDS Suter, ahead of the reigning 125cc champion Marc Marquez.

Simone Corsi, Andrea Iannone, Julian Simon and Dominique Aegerter completed the top ten.

Alex Pons was stretchered away from the gravel at the first chicane after falling from his Kalex and collecting Bradley Smith's Tech 3. The Briton clipped the Spaniard's leg as he went down, though Smith emerged unscathed.

Pos Rider Team/Bike Time Gap 1. Stefan Bradl Kiefer Kalex 1m38.357s + 2. Thomas Luthi Interwetten Suter 1m38.402s + 0.045s 3. Yuki Takahashi Gresini Moriwaki 1m38.540s + 0.183s 4. Aleix Espargaro Pons Kalex 1m38.560s + 0.203s 5. Scott Redding Marc VDS Suter 1m38.655s + 0.298s 6. Marc Marquez Catalunya Suter 1m38.679s + 0.322s 7. Simone Corsi Ioda FTR 1m38.706s + 0.349s 8. Andrea Iannone Speed Master Suter 1m38.799s + 0.442s 9. Julian Simon Aspar Suter 1m38.819s + 0.462s 10. Dominique Aegerter Technomag-CIP Suter 1m38.849s + 0.492s 11. Jules Cluzel Forward Suter 1m39.005s + 0.648s 12. Alex de Angelis JiR Motobi 1m39.031s + 0.674s 13. Michele Pirro Gresini Moriwaki 1m39.064s + 0.707s 14. Axel Pons Pons Kalex 1m39.122s + 0.765s 15. Mattia Pasini Ioda Project FTR 1m39.138s + 0.781s 16. Randy Krummenacher Kiefer Kalex 1m39.221s + 0.864s 17. Bradley Smith Tech 3 1m39.223s + 0.866s 18. Ratthapark Wilairot Thai Honda FTR 1m39.394s + 1.037s 19. Pol Espargaro Tuenti Speed Up FTR 1m39.481s + 1.124s 20. Max Neukirchner MZ 1m39.485s + 1.128s 21. Raffaele De Rosa G22 Moriwaki 1m39.491s + 1.134s 22. Esteve Rabat Blusens FTR 1m39.542s + 1.185s 23. Mika Kallio Marc VDS Suter 1m39.561s + 1.204s 24. Javier Fores Aspar Suter 1m39.576s + 1.219s 25. Kenan Sofuoglu Technomag-CIP Suter 1m39.655s + 1.298s 26. Alex Baldolini Forward Suter 1m39.689s + 1.332s 27. Mike di Meglio Tech 3 1m39.809s + 1.452s 28. Claudio Corti Italtrans Suter 1m39.849s + 1.492s 29. Ricard Cardus QMMF Moriwaki 1m39.916s + 1.559s 30. Yonny Hernandez Blusens FTR 1m39.917s + 1.560s 31. Xavier Simeon Tech 3 1m39.949s + 1.592s 32. Robertino Pietri Italtrans Suter 1m39.987s + 1.630s 33. Anthony West MZ 1m40.016s + 1.659s 34. Kenny Noyes Avintia FTR 1m40.361s + 2.004s 35. Kev Coghlan Castello FTR 1m40.639s + 2.282s 36. Santiago Hernandez SAG FTR 1m40.641s + 2.284s 37. Valentin Debise Speed Up FTR 1m40.774s + 2.417s 38. Alex Cudlin QMMF Moriwaki 1m41.666s + 3.309s 39. Mashel Al Naimi QMMF Moriwaki 1m41.875s + 3.518s 40. Steven Odendaal MS Suter 1m41.897s + 3.540s 
Moto2: Bradl wins hard-fought Moto2 race

Previous article

Moto2: Bradl wins hard-fought Moto2 race

Next article

Moto2: Marquez claims first Moto2 victory

Moto2: Marquez claims first Moto2 victory
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto2
Author Simon Strang