Moto2: Lorenzo wins again at Assen

Jorge Lorenzo took a commanding victory in the 250cc Dutch Grand Prix

Moto2: Lorenzo wins again at Assen

His sixth win in nine races - all of them from pole position - increases his lead in this year's championship to 23 points over Andrea Dovizioso and Alex de Angelis, who are now tied on points after finishing today's race in fourth and second place respectively.

Lorenzo commented: "I thought it would be easier than it was, because Alex [de Angelis] has been riding so fast, faster than I had hoped.

"But we have won - the sixth victory of the season - and we have recuperated the points we lost in Donington, so we have to be happy with this result."

Lorenzo had a good getaway from pole position, but Dovizioso had an even better one from second on the grid, with the Honda rider leading the Aprilia one at the first turn.

That didn't last long, however, and mid way through the first lap the Spaniard overtook the Italian, with the two riders opening a two-second gap by lap 3 over de Angelis, Alvaro Bautista, Hector Barbera and Thomas Luthi.

But while Dovizioso started losing a bit of ground from Lorenzo, de Angelis began his chase to the leading duo by setting three fastest laps in a row.

By the eighth lap, the rider from San Marino caught the Italian and passed him for second place. De Angelis then quickly reduced the gap to about one second from Lorenzo.

While the gap remained consistent for a handful of laps, the championship-leader pressed on and by lap 20 the gap was two seconds, which almost doubled by the end of the race.

Meanwhile Dovizioso began to lose more ground from the leaders to about seven seconds by lap 16, when he was caught and passed by Bautista for third place.

The four leading riders maintained their positions to the end of the race, followed by Hiroshi Aoyama in fifth place, Marco Simoncelli in sixth, and Barbera in seventh.

With Luthi retiring from the fight for fifth place on lap 18 with mechanical problems, the top ten were rounded up by Mika Kallio, Roberto Locatelli and Yuki Takahashi.

Pos Rider Bike Time  1. Jorge Lorenzo Aprilia 40:25.904 2. Alex de Angelis Aprilia + 3.857 3. Alvaro Bautista Aprilia + 8.683 4. Andrea Dovizioso Honda + 17.948 5. Hiroshi Aoyama KTM + 30.800 6. Marco Simoncelli Gilera + 31.135 7. Hector Barbera Aprilia + 33.323 8. Mika Kallio KTM + 40.807 9. R.Locatelli Gilera + 1:11.829 10. Yuki Takahashi Honda + 1:18.958 11. Fabrizio Lai Aprilia + 1:19.361 12. Taro Sekiguchi Aprilia + 1:26.810 13. Shuhei Aoyama Honda + 1:26.850 14. R.Wilairot Honda + 1:28.717 15. Karel Abraham Aprilia + 1:28.949 16. Dirk Heidolf Aprilia + 1:30.407 17. Aleix Espargaro Aprilia + 1:33.812 18. Efrén Vazquez Aprilia + 1:37.706 19. Alex Baldolini Aprilia + 1:44.925 20. Jules Cluzel Aprilia + 1:47.373 21. Eugene Laverty Honda + 1 Lap 22. Imre Toth Aprilia + 1 Lap 23. Ronald Beitler Honda + 1 Lap 24. Randy Gevers Aprilia + 3 Laps Not Classified: Rider Bike Laps Thomas Luthi Aprilia 18 Dan Linfoot Aprilia 11 Hans Smees Aprilia 10 Julian Simon Honda 8 Fastest lap: de Angelis, 1:40.354 on lap 13 
Moto2: Lorenzo keeps pole on damp track

Previous article

Moto2: Lorenzo keeps pole on damp track

Next article

Moto2: Lorenzo secures provisional pole

Moto2: Lorenzo secures provisional pole
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto2
Author Michele Lostia