Moto2: Lorenzo dominates Catalunya

Jorge Lorenzo increased his 250cc championship lead with the anticipated dominant victory in his home race at Catalunya

Moto2: Lorenzo dominates Catalunya

The reigning champion was only headed for a few yards - as Thomas Luthi shot through from fifth to the lead off the line, before Lorenzo swept around outside and moved back ahead at the first corner.

Andrea Dovizioso soon pushed Luthi down to third and managed to stay on Lorenzo's tail in the opening laps. They were then joined by Alex de Angelis, who had picked his way through from sixth.

De Angelis managed to take second from Dovizioso but had no answer to Lorenzo's pace, as the Spaniard edged away to win by 3.2 seconds.

"It's a dream for me because winning at home is especially amazing," said Lorenzo, who now leads Dovizioso by 36 points.

"Alex de Angelis was amazingly fast. I thought the pace of the race would be slower, but it wasn't and I struggled so much. This is my fifth victory in seven races this season, and I have to be very, very happy."

Dovizioso and Luthi took lonely third and fourth places as the front of the field spread out. Luthi had started to come under pressure from wild card rider Alex Debon at half-distance, but the home rider crashed at Turn 5 on the 18th lap and dropped to 16th.

Two of Lorenzo's usual rivals took themselves out of contention for victory with dreadful starts, as front row qualifier Hector Barbera and Mugello winner Alvaro Bautista tumbled to 13th and 11th.

They soon worked their way to the head of the midfield pack and then closed in on fifth-placed Mika Kallio, taking Hiroshi Aoyama with them. Bautista managed to get ahead of Kallio in the final laps, but Barbera's pace faded and he fell to eighth behind Aoyama.

Classified: Pos Rider Bike Time 1. Jorge Lorenzo Aprilia 40:51.620 2. Alex de Angelis Aprilia + 3.194 3. Andrea Dovizioso Honda + 10.596 4. Thomas Luthi Aprilia + 17.100 5. Alvaro Bautista Aprilia + 20.298 6. Mika Kallio KTM + 20.566 7. Hiroshi Aoyama KTM + 20.615 8. Hector Barbera Aprilia + 23.584 9. Marco Simoncelli Gilera + 36.703 10. Julian Simon Honda + 36.767 11. Shuhei Aoyama Honda + 39.592 12. R.Locatelli Gilera + 48.028 13. Jules Cluzel Aprilia +1:07.085 14. Karel Abraham Aprilia +1:11.868 15. Taro Sekiguchi Aprilia +1:17.387 16. Alex Debon Aprilia +1:19.654 17. R.Wilairot Honda +1:19.822 18. Alex Baldolini Aprilia +1:23.243 19. Eugene Laverty Honda +1:35.553 20. Aleix Espargaro Aprilia +1:42.529 21. Anthony West Aprilia +1:55.832 22. Imre Toth Aprilia + 1 lap 23. Alvaro Molina Aprilia + 1 lap Not classified: Yuki Takahashi Honda 22 Dirk Heidolf Aprilia 15 Fabrizio Lai Aprilia 11 Arturo Tizon Aprilia 0 
Moto2: Lorenzo clinches dominant pole

Previous article

Moto2: Lorenzo clinches dominant pole

Next article

Moto2: De Angelis dominates first qualifying

Moto2: De Angelis dominates first qualifying
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto2
Author Matt Beer