Moto2: Elias claims seventh Moto2 victory

Toni Elias edged closer to clinching the inaugural Moto2 title by taking his seventh win of the season at Motegi

Moto2: Elias claims seventh Moto2 victory

Julian Simon did his utmost to prevent the points leader winning again, but could not find a way past Elias and had to settle for another second place.

Elias had burst through from fourth on the grid to lead the opening lap, ahead of Yuki Takahashi, Simon and Scott Redding, who ran as a close quartet in the early stages.

Takahashi and Redding could not keep up the leading pace though, so Elias and Simon were soon in a battle of their own. They swapped places twice on lap three, but that was the only chance Simon would get. He shadowed Elias right to the end, but never had another opportunity to pass, crossing the line 0.3 seconds behind the victorious Gresini Moriwaki.

Alex de Angelis and Karel Abraham worked their way out of the pack to join Takahashi and Redding in a battle for the final podium spot. After some bold late moves, it was 2011 Ducati MotoGP privateer Abraham who managed to finally take his first podium at world championship level, just ahead of de Angelis, Takahashi and Redding.

Simon is now the only man who can deny Elias the Moto2 crown, although even the reigning 125cc champion is 81 points behind with just 100 available in the remaining four rounds.

Andrea Iannone and Thomas Luthi's slim title hopes disappeared in this race, with Luthi making good progress through the midfield but unable to get beyond eighth, and Iannone dropping back on the first lap and later going through the gravel, leaving him 13th.

Pos Rider Bike Time/Gap 1. Toni Elias Moriwaki 43m50.930s 2. Julian Simon Suter + 0.315s 3. Karel Abraham FTR + 9.839s 4. Alex de Angelis Motobi + 10.178s 5. Scott Redding Suter + 11.237s 6. Yuki Takahashi Tech 3 + 12.778s 7. Stefan Bradl Suter + 17.284s 8. Thomas Luthi Moriwaki + 17.892s 9. Roberto Rolfo Suter + 19.235s 10. Alex Debon FTR + 19.568s 11. Simone Corsi Motobi + 22.713s 12. Dominique Aegerter Suter + 23.417s 13. Andrea Iannone Speed Up + 25.847s 14. Claudio Corti Suter + 27.528s 15. Raffaele de Rosa Tech 3 + 28.696s 16. Jules Cluzel Suter + 29.629s 17. Sergio Gadea Pons Kalex + 34.072s 18. Mike di Meglio Suter + 37.087s 19. Axel Pons Pons Kalex + 40.460s 20. Michael Ranseder Suter + 40.653s 21. Gabor Talmacsi Speed Up + 40.855s 22. Kenny Noyes Promoharris + 42.287s 23. Anthony West MZ + 44.814s 24. Ratthapark Wilairot Bimota + 46.745s 25. Kazuki Watanabe Suter + 49.749s 26. Valentin Debise ADV + 49.964s 27. Ricard Cardus Bimota + 1m14.349s 28. Mashel Al Naimi BQR + 1m15.823s 29. Yannick Guerra Moriwaki + 1m16.189s 30. Hector Faubel Suter + 1m21.900s 31. Robertino Pietri Suter + 1m26.024s 32. Vladimir Ivanov Moriwaki + 1m27.673s 33. Ferruccio Lamborghini Moriwaki + 1m41.644s 34. Kouki Takahashi RBB + 1m45.570s Retirements: Joan Olive Promoharris 21 laps Alex Baldolini ICP 21 laps Yonny Hernandez BQR 20 laps Hiromichi Kunikawa Bimota 11 laps Fonsi Nieto Moriwaki 3 laps Yusuke Teshima TSR 0 laps 
Moto2: Simon earns Moto2 pole in Japan

Previous article

Moto2: Simon earns Moto2 pole in Japan

Next article

Moto2: Simon on pole for Sepang Moto2

Moto2: Simon on pole for Sepang Moto2
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto2
Author Matt Beer