Moto2: Simon earns Moto2 pole in Japan

Julian Simon will start on pole for the Motegi Moto2 race after an excellent qualifying performance in Japan

Moto2: Simon earns Moto2 pole in Japan

The Aspar Suter rider, who is second in the championship but 76 points behind leader Toni Elias, took over at the front with five minutes to go, and then improved his time on three consecutive laps, eventually reaching 1m53.008s.

That proved beyond his rivals' reach, with Marc VDS' Scott Redding getting closest as he lapped 0.284 seconds slower in the closing moments.

A similar late improvement got Yuki Takahashi up to third on the Tech 3.

Elias had taken provisional pole on only his fourth lap of the session, and stayed serenely on top until Simon deposed him. As others also improved, Elias was pushed right back to sixth, but he got back onto the front row in fourth with his final lap.

Claudio Corti, Alex de Angelis, 2011 MotoGP rider Karel Abraham and Stefan Bradl will start on row two, with Yonny Hernandez and Andrea Iannone completing the top 10. The spectacular Hernandez had held second behind Elias for a long time, while four-time race-winner Iannone went through the gravel at the end of the back straight on his last lap so was unable to improve.

Pos Rider Bike Time Gap 1. Julian Simon Suter 1m53.008s 2. Scott Redding Suter 1m53.292s + 0.284s 3. Yuki Takahashi Tech 3 1m53.439s + 0.431s 4. Toni Elias Moriwaki 1m53.504s + 0.496s 5. Claudio Corti Suter 1m53.507s + 0.499s 6. Alex de Angelis Motobi 1m53.545s + 0.537s 7. Karel Abraham FTR 1m53.561s + 0.553s 8. Stefan Bradl Suter 1m53.591s + 0.583s 9. Yonny Hernandez BQR 1m53.601s + 0.593s 10. Andrea Iannone Speed Up 1m53.747s + 0.739s 11. Roberto Rolfo Suter 1m53.817s + 0.809s 12. Dominique Aegerter Suter 1m53.830s + 0.822s 13. Jules Cluzel Suter 1m53.920s + 0.912s 14. Fonsi Nieto Moriwaki 1m53.929s + 0.921s 15. Alex Baldolini ICP 1m53.954s + 0.946s 16. Thomas Luthi Moriwaki 1m53.961s + 0.953s 17. Raffaele de Rosa Tech 3 1m54.070s + 1.062s 18. Simone Corsi Motobi 1m54.252s + 1.244s 19. Mike di Meglio Suter 1m54.363s + 1.355s 20. Sergio Gadea Pons Kalex 1m54.390s + 1.382s 21. Kenny Noyes Promoharris 1m54.417s + 1.409s 22. Ratthapark Wilairot Bimota 1m54.498s + 1.490s 23. Michael Ranseder Suter 1m54.504s + 1.496s 24. Hector Faubel Suter 1m54.529s + 1.521s 25. Yusuke Teshima TSR 1m54.565s + 1.557s 26. Alex Debon FTR 1m54.596s + 1.588s 27. Shogo Moriwaki Moriwaki 1m54.631s + 1.623s 28. Gabor Talmacsi Speed Up 1m54.645s + 1.637s 29. Axel Pons Pons Kalex 1m54.837s + 1.829s 30. Kazuki Watanabe Suter 1m55.413s + 2.405s 31. Anthony West MZ 1m55.544s + 2.536s 32. Valentin Debise ADV 1m55.548s + 2.540s 33. Ferruccio Lamborghini Moriwaki 1m55.955s + 2.947s 34. Ricard Cardus Bimota 1m56.139s + 3.131s 35. Robertino Pietri Suter 1m56.148s + 3.140s 36. Mashel Al Naimi BQR 1m56.280s + 3.272s 37. Joan Olive Promoharris 1m56.445s + 3.437s 38. Yannick Guerra Moriwaki 1m56.474s + 3.466s 39. Vladimir Ivanov Moriwaki 1m56.624s + 3.616s 40. Hiromichi Kunikawa Bimota 1m56.849s + 3.841s 41. Kouki Takahashi RBB 1m57.115s + 4.107s 
Moto2: Iannone dominates Aragon Moto2

Previous article

Moto2: Iannone dominates Aragon Moto2

Next article

Moto2: Elias claims seventh Moto2 victory

Moto2: Elias claims seventh Moto2 victory
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto2
Drivers Julian Simon
Author Matt Beer