Sign up for free

  • Get quick access to your favorite articles

  • Manage alerts on breaking news and favorite drivers

  • Make your voice heard with article commenting.

Autosport Plus

Discover premium content

Pagenaud takes first IndyCar win since 2017 in wet Indy GP thriller

Penske's Simon Pagenaud claimed his first IndyCar win since the 2017 season finale with a late pass on Scott Dixon in a rain-hit end to the Indianapolis road course race

Rain had been expected throughout the afternoon, with variable levels of drizzle making the track unpredictable all race.

Eventual lead combatants Dixon and Pagenaud ran only third and eighth early on, with Dixon having lost out to fast starter Jack Harvey at the green flag as his polesitting Ganassi team-mate Felix Rosenqvist held the lead.

Rosenqvist briefly escaped while Dixon pressured Harvey, before an early yellow for a spin at the final corner for Marcus Ericsson that took the Formula 1 convert all the way into the oval layout's wall.

At the restart Dixon immediately surged past Harvey then attacked Rosenqvist, who locked up and ran slightly wide into the first corner and let his team-mate through.

But another yellow followed straight away as a brush of wheels between Harvey and Colton Herta in their wake spun the Austin winner's Harding-Steinbrenner Dallara-Honda.

The stranded Herta was then hit by Ryan Hunter-Reay, who was punted into a spin by James Hinchcliffe in a midfield incident.

Dixon escaped at the next restart, while Rosenqvist was attacked on either side by Harvey and Ed Jones and fell from second to fourth as Jones did the opposite.

Jones lacked pace in the middle stint, allowing Dixon to pull clear as the second placed car held off Harvey, Rosenqvist, Spencer Pigot and Pagenaud.

Once the rest of that group had pitted for the second time, Harvey and Pagenaud rapidly caught Dixon - all three running longer then pitting as one, with Pagenaud jumping Harvey.

Then the rain arrived in earnest for the final third of the race. Series returnee Helio Castroneves was among the first to take rain tyres, but he spun at the pit exit and became stuck on the grass - prompting a third caution.

Strategies initially scattered under the yellow, with some staying out on slicks, others making what they hoped would be final stops but keeping slicks, and a minority pitting for wets.

But it was the wet tyre group that had guessed right, as the rain increased in the following minutes and everyone else had to pit and join them on rain tyres.

Dixon, Harvey, Pigot, Matheus Leist and Jones benefited from going straight to wets and headed the field at the restart, with Pagenaud back to sixth having at first stayed out then belatedly come in for wets.

The Penske driver quickly surged forward when the racing resumed with 17 laps left, and within six laps he was going around the outside of Leist at Turn 1 to move into third.

Harvey proved tougher to shift - a five lap dice ensuing before Pagenaud took second with a dive down the inside at the first corner.

He then caught Dixon at an astonishing rate of up to two seconds per lap, before pouncing when the reigning champion ran slightly wide in the infield on the penultimate lap and taking the lead in a move that involved a brush of wheels.

Pagenaud raced clear to win by 2.1s over Dixon, with Harvey giving the Meyer Shank/Schmidt Peterson partnership a first podium in third ahead of Leist, Pigot and Jones.

Fires at his second and third pitstops contributed to Rosenqvist falling back into the midfield before he recovered to eighth behind Will Power. Graham Rahal and Santino Ferrucci completed the top 10.

Going off-sequence on pitstops early on put Pagenaud's other team-mate Josef Newgarden in a position that might have paid off with victory before the rain shook up everyone's strategies.

A penalty for his crew allowing a wheel to roll away during his final pitstop then dropped Newgarden to the back. He recovered to 15th.

In his first race since being added to the Red Bull junior scheme amid talk of a future F1 move, Indy Lights champion Patricio O'Ward gained an immediate penalty for hitting Alexander Rossi as the field formed up for the start.

Topping up fuel under both the early yellows got O'Ward onto the same strategy as Newgarden and he had a spell in second but ended up 19th amid the rain and a late additional stop.

Race result

Pos Driver Team Car Laps Gap
1 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 85 2h00m28.1166s
2 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 85 2.0469s
3 Jack Harvey Meyer Shank Racing Dallara/Honda 85 3.7683s
4 Matheus Leist AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Chevrolet 85 5.4378s
5 Spencer Pigot Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 85 6.0938s
6 Ed Jones Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 85 7.1027s
7 Will Power Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 85 7.5853s
8 Felix Rosenqvist Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 85 8.7080s
9 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 85 9.1802s
10 Santino Ferrucci Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 85 12.7201s
11 Sebastien Bourdais Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 85 16.6131s
12 Zach Veach Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 85 19.6145s
13 Marco Andretti Andretti Herta Dallara/Honda 85 26.9994s
14 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 85 28.0345s
15 Josef Newgarden Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 85 28.4598s
16 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 85 28.6403s
17 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 85 29.1217s
18 Max Chilton Carlin Dallara/Chevrolet 85 32.0458s
19 Patricio O'Ward Carlin Dallara/Chevrolet 85 1m12.0400s
20 Tony Kanaan AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Chevrolet 83 2 Laps
21 Helio Castroneves Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 83 2 Laps
22 Alexander Rossi Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 81 4 Laps
23 Colton Herta Harding Racing Dallara/Honda 15 Contact
24 Marcus Ericsson Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 11 Contact

Drivers' standings

Pos Driver Points
1 Josef Newgarden 182
2 Scott Dixon 176
3 Alexander Rossi 146
4 Simon Pagenaud 138
5 Takuma Sato 132
6 Will Power 119
7 Graham Rahal 113
8 Sebastien Bourdais 111
9 Ryan Hunter-Reay 109
10 James Hinchcliffe 107
11 Felix Rosenqvist 106
12 Jack Harvey 100
13 Colton Herta 95
14 Marco Andretti 95
15 Spencer Pigot 93

Be part of Autosport community

Join the conversation
Previous article Rosenqvist claims first IndyCar pole at Indianapolis road course
Next article Ganassi's Rosenqvist, Dixon puzzled by lack of grip at Indianapolis

Top Comments

There are no comments at the moment. Would you like to write one?

Sign up for free

  • Get quick access to your favorite articles

  • Manage alerts on breaking news and favorite drivers

  • Make your voice heard with article commenting.

Autosport Plus

Discover premium content