IndyCar leader Scott Dixon wins in Toronto, rivals hit trouble

Chip Ganassi Racing's Scott Dixon extends his championship lead with a dominant victory on the streets of Toronto as his IndyCar title rivals all suffered calamities

Dixon inherited the race lead when pole-sitter Josef Newgarden hit the wall on the restart after an early caution period.

Newgarden was able to recover from his brush with the wall, climbing up to ninth before the chequered flag after falling down into the midpack.

Dixon made nearest title rival Newgarden's woes worse when he held onto the lead through a safety car period and proved unchallenged in the second half of the race.

His main problem came from backmarkers, with Ryan Hunter-Reay proving problematic as the Andretti driver tried to stay on the lead lap after an early mistake and a later collision.

Dixon managed to clear Hunter-Reay after a vocal complaint on the radio and finished 5.2701 seconds ahead of Penske's Simon Pagenaud to take his third IndyCar win in Toronto.

But Pagenaud got the position late on as Schmidt Peterson Motorsports driver Robert Wickens spent the first part of the race running second, but was passed by the Penske man after the final round of pit stops.

Wickens ran into the back of Pagenaud as he tried to reclaim the position and the pair made further contact as they ran side-by-side, but Pagenaud held onto second.

The SPM driver fell away from Pagenaud in the closing stages of the race but finished comfortably ahead of Hinchcliffe in fourth to take his third podium of the season.

Newgarden's dramatic crash wasn't the only accident to take place in Toronto.

Moments before his shunt with the wall, a multi-car collision at the first corner ruined the races of multiple drivers. Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing's Graham Rahal locked up and ran into the back of Max Chilton, sending the Carlin driver into a spin and collecting those running behind him.

Ed Jones, Simon Bourdais, Hunter-Reay, Alexander Rossi and Will Power were all caught up in the incident at the start of lap 33 of 85, but Chilton was the only driver to retire due to it.

The collision caused more potential problems for Bourdais and Rossi, who had already made front wing changes due to separate incidents early in the race.

Both came in for new front wings following the Chilton accident and both later managed to make it to the chequered flag without further incidents, with Bourdais 19th and Rossi eighth.

Charlie Kimball finished fifth to take his and Carlin's best finish of the season, ahead of AJ Foyt Racing's own best result with Tony Kanaan in sixth ahead of Zach Veach who proved apt at working his way through the field.

Takuma Sato ran into problems late in the race when he brushed the wall while sixth. The contact caused a bent tow link and he limped around the track to retire in a safe position.

Rene Binder brought out the safety car midway through the race when he came to a stop at turn eight. He managed to return to the track, finishing two laps behind the leader.

Marco Andretti had been running inside the top five late in the race when he was forced to pit for fuel at the end of the penultimate lap. Andretti dropped back to 10th, behind Rossi and Newgarden.

Race result

Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 1h37m00.3100s
2 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 5.2701s
3 Robert Wickens Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 6.7753s
4 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 18.3362s
5 Charlie Kimball Carlin Dallara/Chevrolet 18.8439s
6 Tony Kanaan AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Chevrolet 30.4354s
7 Zach Veach Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 32.2732s
8 Alexander Rossi Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 34.5257s
9 Josef Newgarden Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 35.5755s
10 Marco Andretti Andretti Herta Dallara/Honda 38.9089s
11 Jordan King Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 39.3331s
12 Ed Jones Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 42.3674s
13 Conor Daly Harding Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 46.5785s
14 Zachary Claman Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 54.4973s
15 Matheus Leist AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Chevrolet 59.0749s
16 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1 Lap
17 Rene Binder Juncos Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 2 Laps
18 Will Power Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 2 Laps
19 Sebastien Bourdais Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 2 Laps
20 Spencer Pigot Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet Contact
21 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 17 Laps
22 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda Contact
23 Max Chilton Carlin Dallara/Chevrolet Contact

Drivers' standings

Pos Driver Points
1 Scott Dixon 464
2 Josef Newgarden 402
3 Alexander Rossi 394
4 Ryan Hunter-Reay 373
5 Will Power 371
6 Robert Wickens 339
7 Simon Pagenaud 320
8 Graham Rahal 313
9 James Hinchcliffe 312
10 Marco Andretti 266
11 Sebastien Bourdais 265
12 Takuma Sato 245
13 Ed Jones 240
14 Spencer Pigot 222
15 Tony Kanaan 215
16 Charlie Kimball 198
17 Zach Veach 191
18 Matheus Leist 171
19 Gabby Chaves 158
20 Max Chilton 156
21 Ed Carpenter 148
22 Zachary Claman 122
23 Jordan King 108
24 Carlos Munoz 53
25 Jack Harvey 53
26 Rene Binder 52
27 Kyle Kaiser 45
28 Helio Castroneves 40
29 J.R. Hildebrand 38
30 Conor Daly 35
31 Stefan Wilson 31
32 Oriol Servia 27
33 Santino Ferrucci 18
34 Danica Patrick 13
35 Jay Howard 12
36 James Davison 10
36 Alfonso Celis 10
36 Sage Karam 10
39 Pietro Fittipaldi 7

Previous article Josef Newgarden beats IndyCar title rival Dixon to Toronto pole
Next article Josef Newgarden can't explain crash while leading Toronto IndyCar