Hungaroring FR3.5: Lotus F1 protege Matthieu Vaxiviere takes pole

Lotus Formula 1 junior driver Matthieu Vaxiviere claimed his third pole position of the Formula Renault 3.5 season at the Hungaroring

Hungaroring FR3.5: Lotus F1 protege Matthieu Vaxiviere takes pole

The Frenchman's time of 1m29.221s edged out race one winner Egor Orudzhev by just 0.019 seconds.

Fortec's Jazeman Jaafar endured a troubled Saturday race in Hungary, including sustaining a puncture after contact with Dean Stoneman.

However, the Malaysian recovered from languishing in last place mid-way through the session to take third on the grid for Sunday afternoon's race.

Manor F1 driver Roberto Merhi confirmed the competitive resurgence of Pons Racing.

The Spaniard joins Jaafar on the second row, and will be aiming to go one better than his race one runner-up position.

Championship leader Oliver Rowland in fifth heads Strakka Racing's Gustav Malja. Both men enjoyed turns occupying provisional pole.

Swede Malja held top spot on the timing screens for much of the session and was still in front with three minutes of the half hour session remaining.

In a burst of activity, first place changed hands between Orudzhev, Rowland, Jaafar and finally Vaxiviere within a space of a minute.

Malja was one of the stars on Saturday, coming from last on the grid to take a point for 10th.

Roy Nissany tore the right-front wheel off his Tech 1 car against the barriers between Turns 6 and 7 after just eight minutes of running.

The Israeli had his fastest time deleted for causing a red flag incident and will start from last on the grid.


Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Matthieu Vaxiviere Lotus 1m29.221s -
2 Egor Orudzhev Arden Motorsport 1m29.240s 0.019s
3 Jazeman Jaafar Fortec Motorsports 1m29.338s 0.117s
4 Roberto Merhi Pons Racing 1m29.693s 0.472s
5 Oliver Rowland Fortec Motorsports 1m29.779s 0.558s
6 Gustav Malja Strakka Racing 1m29.815s 0.594s
7 Pietro Fantin International Draco Racing 1m29.884s 0.663s
8 Tio Ellinas Strakka Racing 1m30.084s 0.863s
9 Tom Dillmann Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1m30.099s 0.878s
10 Dean Stoneman DAMS 1m30.187s 0.966s
11 Sean Gelael Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1m30.203s 0.982s
12 Nicholas Latifi Arden Motorsport 1m30.287s 1.066s
13 Nyck de Vries DAMS 1m30.391s 1.170s
14 Meindert van Buuren Lotus 1m30.423s 1.202s
15 Beitske Visser AVF 1m30.439s 1.218s
16 Philo Paz Armand Pons Racing 1m30.548s 1.327s
17 Alfonso Celis AVF 1m30.559s 1.338s
18 Aurelien Panis Tech 1 Racing 1m30.638s 1.417s
19 Bruno Bonifacio International Draco Racing 1m30.836s 1.615s
- Roy Nissany Tech 1 Racing 1m47.511s 18.290s


Hungaroring FR3.5: Orudzhev denies Merhi and Rowland in epic race

Hungaroring FR3.5: Oliver Rowland defeats Matthieu Vaxiviere