European F3 Hungaroring: Ticktum secures second pole of 2018 season

McLaren Autosport BRDC Award winner Dan Ticktum claimed his second Formula 3 European Championship pole position of the season in qualifying for the first Hungaroring race

The Motopark-run Red Bull Junior, winner of last November's Macau Grand Prix, emerged atop a four-way battle for pole with Hitech GP's Alex Palou and Prema Powerteam duo Guan Yu Zhou and Mick Schumacher.

Ticktum finally whisked his Dallara-Volkswagen around the Hungarian track 0.032 seconds quicker than the Dallara-Mercedes of Palou, both of them using two sets of Hankook tyres in the hot weather conditions, albeit with thunder and lightning in the distance.

"We definitely considered using one set [of the total of three allowed per meeting] because you could argue qualifying tomorrow is more important, because it decides the grid for two races," said Ticktum.

"But it was the right thing to do to get your eye in one set, because the references were there for the second set.

"The track was getting a lot better as the temperature dropped three or four degrees, and the lap was just put together - I probably could have extracted a bit more by pushing hard, but I only needed a 95-98% lap."

With Palou completing the front row, free practice pacesetter Zhou pipped Schumacher to third fastest. The five Prema Powerteam cars all used just one set of tyres, with Pau victor Zhou leading the quintet as they line up in third to seventh positions.

Behind Schumacher, Marcus Armstrong took fifth, ahead of Robert Shwartzman and Pau Grand Prix winner Ralf Aron.

Jonathan Aberdein stepped forward to lead Motopark's roster of Formula 4 graduates by taking an impressive eighth fastest, while Hitech's Enaam Ahmed and another Motopark car - that of Juri Vips - completed the top 10.

Carlin struggled all day, the drivers reporting difficulty in finding a balance in free practice and not really moving forward in qualifying.

The squad's three faster drivers all elected to use one set of tyres for qualifying, but the quickest of them, Ferdinand Habsburg, ended the session down in 11th position, with the team's championship leader Sacha Fenestraz in 13th.

Qualifying result

Pos Driver Team Car Gap Laps
1 Dan Ticktum Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 1m35.275s 10
2 Alex Palou Hitech Bullfrog GP Dallara/Mercedes 0.032s 9
3 Guanyu Zhou PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 0.102s 7
4 Mick Schumacher PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 0.137s 7
5 Marcus Armstrong PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 0.214s 7
6 Robert Shwartzman PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 0.247s 7
7 Ralf Aron PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 0.404s 7
8 Jonathan Aberdein Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 0.514s 11
9 Enaam Ahmed Hitech Bullfrog GP Dallara/Mercedes 0.668s 10
10 Juri Vips Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 0.835s 10
11 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 0.844s 6
12 Ben Hingeley Hitech Bullfrog GP Dallara/Mercedes 0.846s 11
13 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 0.902s 8
14 Fabio Scherer Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 0.903s 7
15 Jehan Daruvala Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 0.912s 7
16 Marino Sato Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 0.974s 11
17 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 1.155s 9
18 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 1.255s 10
19 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 1.366s 11
20 Nikita Troitskiy Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 1.422s 10
21 Devlin Defrancesco Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 1.622s 9
22 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 1.892s 11
23 Julian Hanses ma-con Dallara/Volkswagen 1.903s 6
24 Petru Florescu Fortec Motorsports Dallara/Mercedes 2.481s 10

Previous article Van Amersfoort rules out running Florsch in 2018 Euro F3 season
Next article Euro F3 Hungaroring: Ticktum wins pending collision investigation