Sign up for free

  • Get quick access to your favorite articles

  • Manage alerts on breaking news and favorite drivers

  • Make your voice heard with article commenting.

Autosport Plus

Discover premium content

Euro F3 Zandvoort: Nikita Troitskiy triumphs as Dan Ticktum penalised

Nikita Troitskiy took a shock maiden Formula 3 European Championship victory after Dan Ticktum was penalised in a truncated finale to the Zandvoort weekend

Red Bull Junior Ticktum was leading the race from pole position when he was given a drive-through penalty for a jumped start.

After Ticktum served his penalty at the end of the eighth lap, he rejoined at the tail of the field before stopping his Motopark car for good at the end of the following lap.

Troitskiy, who had qualified his Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen third, moved up to second at the start when front-row starter Juri Vips stalled.

Guan Yu Zhou made a better start than Troitskiy and challenged around the outside of the opening Tarzanbocht, but dropped a wheel in the gravel and slotted into third place.

To his credit, Troitskiy, whose previous best Euro F3 result had been a ninth at the Hungaroring, kept Ticktum within a second before the leader served his penalty.

Once he inherited the lead, the SMP Racing-backed Russian pulled a gap on the pursuing Prema Powerteam car of Zhou, who was "struggling a bit with the rear tyres" and was over two seconds adrift when the safety car emerged for the second time after Julian Hanses crashed at the penultimate corner.

With Hanses's car against the barrier at the top of an enormous gravel trap, the extrication exercise proved too difficult for the marshals and safety crews and, after a long time under the safety car, the race was eventually red-flagged.

"It's unbelievable - I'm really happy," exclaimed Troitskiy, who is coached by 1990s F3 veteran Warren Hughes.

"The car was good and my pace was great, and I had a comfortable distance to Zhou.

"There's been a lot of preparation behind this and we have been pushing hard - I think we deserve it."

Behind Zhou, Force India protege Jehan Daruvala made it two Carlin drivers in the top three.

Marino Sato led a battle for fourth place from Motopark team-mate Fabio Scherer, Hitech GP's Alex Palou and Carlin man Ferdinand Habsburg.

Jonathan Aberdein was next up in eighth for Motopark, while Artem Petrov scored his first Euro F3 points by claiming ninth for local team Van Amersfoort Racing.

The final point was taken by Enaam Ahmed, who raced up from 16th on the grid in his Hitech machine.

Of the Prema drivers who had qualified out of position, Mick Schumacher beat Ralf Aron to 13th after the Estonian ran wide onto the dust while trying to pass Sebastian Fernandez around the outside of Tarzanbocht.

They headed the recovering Vips, while Marcus Armstrong finally managed to find a way past Keyvan Andres for 16th.

Thanks to Ticktum's penalty, Armstrong continues to lead the championship, but Zhou is now just one point adrift.

Race result

Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Nikita Troitskiy Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 24m16.802s
2 Guanyu Zhou PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 1.236s
3 Jehan Daruvala Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 2.612s
4 Marino Sato Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 3.754s
5 Fabio Scherer Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 4.710s
6 Alex Palou Hitech Bullfrog GP Dallara/Mercedes 6.288s
7 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 7.639s
8 Jonathan Aberdein Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 9.031s
9 Artem Petrov Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 9.579s
10 Enaam Ahmed Hitech Bullfrog GP Dallara/Mercedes 13.725s
11 Robert Shwartzman PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 14.405s
12 Sebastian Fernandez Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 15.216s
13 Mick Schumacher PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 15.722s
14 Ralf Aron PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 16.545s
15 Juri Vips Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen 18.191s
16 Marcus Armstrong PREMA Theodore Racing Dallara/Mercedes 19.861s
17 Keyvan Andres Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 20.434s
18 Sacha Fenestraz Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 21.131s
19 Sophia Florsch Van Amersfoort Racing Dallara/Mercedes 22.070s
20 Ameya Vaidyanathan Carlin Dallara/Volkswagen 22.918s
21 Petru Florescu Fortec Motorsports Dallara/Mercedes 23.681s
- Julian Hanses ma-con Dallara/Volkswagen Retirement
- Dan Ticktum Motopark Dallara/Volkswagen Retirement
- Ben Hingeley Hitech Bullfrog GP Dallara/Mercedes Retirement

Driver standings

Pos Driver Points
1 Marcus Armstrong 131
2 Guanyu Zhou 130
3 Ralf Aron 126.5
4 Dan Ticktum 118
5 Enaam Ahmed 88
6 Juri Vips 82
7 Alex Palou 72
8 Jehan Daruvala 71.5
9 Mick Schumacher 64
10 Robert Shwartzman 59
11 Sacha Fenestraz 55
12 Ferdinand Habsburg 32
13 Nikita Troitskiy 27
14 Marino Sato 25.5
15 Fabio Scherer 21
16 Ben Hingeley 18
17 Keyvan Andres 16
18 Jonathan Aberdein 16
19 Julian Hanses 6
20 Artem Petrov 2
21 Sebastian Fernandez 1

Be part of Autosport community

Join the conversation
Previous article Euro F3 Zandvoort: Ralf Aron doubles up with race two victory
Next article Euro F3 Zandvoort: Dan Ticktum boosted by rivals' 'pathetic mind games'

Top Comments

There are no comments at the moment. Would you like to write one?

Sign up for free

  • Get quick access to your favorite articles

  • Manage alerts on breaking news and favorite drivers

  • Make your voice heard with article commenting.

Autosport Plus

Discover premium content