DTM Zandvoort: Gary Paffett takes pole in Mercedes 1-2-3-4 sweep

DTM series leader Gary Paffett has earned pole position for the first race of the Zandvoort round as Mercedes claimed a 1-2-3-4 in qualifying

Paffett set his time on his first run and, despite setting a purple opening sector on his second set of tyres, he was unable to match his earlier effort on his next attempt.

Paul di Resta lay second at the midway point of the session, but Pascal Wehrlein's second run allowed him to vault the Scot and move onto the front row, 0.060 seconds adrift of Paffett's best.

Di Resta claimed that he was compromised during his outlap on his second set of tyres, and will start third.

Another to improve on the second runs was Lucas Auer, who moved himself up into fourth position.

BMW's leading duo in the standings, Timo Glock and Marco Wittmann, led the Munich manufacturer's charge and will share the third row of the grid.

Audi again looks short of pace compared to its two rivals, but local hero Robin Frijns put his car seventh on the grid ahead of stablemates Nico Muller and Rene Rast.

Completing the top 10 was the BMW of Augusto Farfus.

It was a disastrous session for Edoardo Mortara, who lies second in the championship - he was 15th after the first runs and slumped to 18th and last by the end of the 20 minutes of running.

Qualifying result

Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Gary Paffett HWA Mercedes 1m30.778s
2 Pascal Wehrlein HWA Mercedes 0.060s
3 Paul Di Resta HWA Mercedes 0.202s
4 Lucas Auer HWA Mercedes 0.285s
5 Timo Glock RMR BMW 0.439s
6 Marco Wittmann RMG BMW 0.559s
7 Robin Frijns Abt Audi 0.597s
8 Nico Muller Abt Audi 0.646s
9 Rene Rast Rosberg Audi 0.683s
10 Augusto Farfus RMG BMW 0.691s
11 Mike Rockenfeller Phoenix Audi 0.699s
12 Bruno Spengler RBM BMW 0.699s
13 Philipp Eng RMR BMW 0.704s
14 Daniel Juncadella HWA Mercedes 0.729s
15 Joel Eriksson RBM BMW 0.748s
16 Loic Duval Phoenix Audi 0.845s
17 Jamie Green Rosberg Audi 0.983s
18 Edoardo Mortara HWA Mercedes 1.189s

Previous article Struggling Audi doesn't want DTM performance concessions
Next article DTM Zandvoort: Leader Gary Paffett wins over chasing Mercedes pack