Moscow WTCC: Yvan Muller beats Jose Maria Lopez to pole

Yvan Muller narrowly saw off his Citroen team-mate and World Touring Car Championship rival Jose Maria Lopez to take pole at Moscow Raceway

Points leader Lopez had been quickest in the second part of qualifying and therefore went out last in the one-lap shootout for pole, but just trailed Muller all the way around the lap and finished up 0.046 seconds adrift.

Although Citroen had a low-key start to the weekend with Honda and Lada setting the pace in Friday's test and Saturday morning's practice sessions, Gabriele Tarquini and Rob Huff will have to make do with sharing the second row of the grid.

Tom Chilton made it four different brands in Q3 and will start fifth in his Chevrolet.

The big story at the end of Q2 was Sebastien Loeb ending up 11th. A second off pacesetter Lopez, the Frenchman had been sitting in 10th place and reverse grid pole for race two until the final moments of the session, when he was demoted by Tiago Monteiro.

The Portuguese Honda driver will therefore start from the front of the grid for the second of Sunday's races, with Lada debutant Nicky Catsburg alongside him.

Ma Qing Hua had a better performance than Citroen team-mate Loeb but missed out on Q3 in sixth place, ahead of Hugo Valente and Norbert Michelisz.

Behind Loeb in 12th was Jaap van Lagen.

There was a Citroen eliminated in Q1, when Mehdi Bennani could only manage 13th quickest.

Also failing to make it out of the first segment were Chevrolet drivers Tom Coronel, Stefano D'Aste, Gregoire Demoustier and John Filippi, as well as returning Honda driver Rickard Rydell.


Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap
1 Yvan Muller Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 1m37.923s -
2 Jose Maria Lopez Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 1m37.969s 0.046s
3 Gabriele Tarquini Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 1m38.091s 0.168s
4 Rob Huff LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 1m38.639s 0.716s
5 Tom Chilton ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 1m39.139s 1.216s
6 Ma Qinghua Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 1m38.836s -
7 Hugo Valente Campos Racing Chevrolet 1m38.873s -
8 Norbert Michelisz Zengo Motorsport Honda 1m38.918s -
9 Nicky Catsburg LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 1m39.047s -
10 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 1m39.071s -
11 Sebastien Loeb Citroen Total WTCC Citroen 1m39.139s -
12 Jaap van Lagen LADA Sport Rosneft Lada 1m39.195s -
13 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 1m39.172s -
14 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 1m39.550s -
15 Stefano D'Aste Munnich Motorsport Chevrolet 1m39.867s -
16 Rickard Rydell Nika International Honda 1m40.060s -
17 John Filippi Campos Racing Chevrolet 1m40.127s -
18 Gregoire Demoustier Craft-Bamboo Racing Chevrolet 1m39.951s -

Moscow WTCC: Rob Huff's Lada and Gabriele Tarquini's Honda set pace

Moscow WTCC: Yvan Muller beats Citroen team-mate Jose Maria Lopez