WRC Rally Mexico: Neuville takes early lead, Loeb in 10th

Thierry Neuville set a commanding fastest time on the Guanajuato street stage that opened Rally Mexico, as Sebastien Loeb began his World Rally Championship return in 10th place

Thursday night's short, spectator-friendly curtain-raiser was not representative of the dusty gravel roads that will form the majority of the route - and on which WRC points leader Neuville is likely to struggle as he spends Friday first on the road.

But Hyundai driver Neuville was able to set the pace on the street stage by 1.9 seconds over Toyota's Ott Tanak.

Toyota had held a 1-2-3 formation on the leaderboard with just Sebastien Ogier and Neuville to run.

Ogier made a small error and had to settle for a provisional second, a tenth off Tanak, before Neuville usurped both to take his early lead.

Tanak's team-mates Jari-Matti Latvala and Esapekka Lappi completed the initial top five, with shakedown pacesetter and 2017 Mexico winner Kris Meeke the top Citroen in seventh behind Andreas Mikkelsen.

Loeb was first on the road for this stage before the order is flipped for the main part of the event, and ended up 10th quickest of the 11 World Rally Cars with a time 4.7s down on Neuville.

Leading positions after SS1

Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Thierry Neuville, N.Gilsoul Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT Hyundai 2m06.7s
2 Ott Tanak, M.Jarveoja Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT Toyota 1.9s
3 Sebastien Ogier, J.Ingrassia M-Sport Ford WRT Ford 2.0s
4 Jari-Matti Latvala, M.Anttila Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT Toyota 2.5s
5 Esapekka Lappi, J.Ferm Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT Toyota 2.9s
6 Andreas Mikkelsen, A.Jager Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT Hyundai 3.2s
7 Kris Meeke, P.Nagle Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT Citroen 3.5s
8 Dani Sordo, C.del Barrio Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT Hyundai 4.5s
9 Elfyn Evans, D.Barritt M-Sport Ford WRT Ford 4.6s
10 Sebastien Loeb, D.Elena Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT Citroen 4.7s

Previous article WRC Rally Mexico: Loeb 10th on shakedown, team-mate Meeke fastest
Next article Rally Mexico: Dani Sordo leads, Sebastien Loeb third