Hell World Rallycross: Timmy Hansen leads for Peugeot after heats

Team Peugeot-Hansen driver Timmy Hansen topped the Intermediate Classification for a second event in a row at the Norwegian round of the World Rallycross Championship

Hell World Rallycross: Timmy Hansen leads for Peugeot after heats

The Swede set fastest time in heats two and three at the Hell circuit to top the order and will start on pole position for the first semi-final, where he will have a set of brand new tyres at his disposal, having run on the same rubber for the heat races.

In the fourth heat, Hansen was beaten by championship leader Petter Solberg in the times and on track, Solberg using a new set of boots in the final heat race to set the quickest time.

Solberg had been fastest in the first heat too, but succumbed to a rear puncture in the first corner of heat two, hurting his time and overall position. He fought back to be second at the Intermediate stage.

"I drove quite safe in the last heat," said Hansen. "Solberg had new tyres on and we had very old ones.

"I could keep up with him even though I had so much worse tyres. That's a very good sign; we've played a good tactic again so we will definitely be strong for the semi-final and final now."

Hansen's team mate Davy Jeanney finished third at the Intermediate Classification while double European champion Timur Timerzyanov has got things together after a difficult run of events this season and is fourth after the qualifying heats.

Anton Marklund is also having one of his best weekends of the year, driving for Mattias Ekstrom's EKS team, and is fifth, ahead of Johan Kristoffersson and OlsbergsMSE pair Reinis Nitiss and Andreas Bakkerud.

Former single-seater racer Alx Danielsson made it into the semi-finals for the first time in 12th but it has been another torrid weekend for Marklund Motorsport, with both PG Andersson and Toomas Heikkinen failing to make it into the semi-finals, despite Andersson twice finished sixth in his day two heat races.

Top 12 at Intermediate Classification:

1. Timmy Hansen - Peugeot 208
2. Petter Solberg - Citroen DS3
3. Davy Jeanney - Peugeot 208
4. Timur Timerzyanov - Ford Fiesta
5. Anton Marklund - Audi S3
6. Johan Kristoffersson - VW Polo
7. Reinis Nitiss - Ford Fiesta
8. Andreas Bakkerud - Ford Fiesta
9. Robin Larsson - Audi A1
10. Mattias Ekstrom - Audi S3
11. Henning Solberg - Ford Fiesta
12. Alx Danielsson - Audi S3


Guy Wilks secures JRM Mini seat for French World Rallycross round

Hell World Rallycross: Timmy Hansen leads Peugeot one-two