Bright scores BJR's first V8 win

Jason Bright gave Brad Jones Racing its first ever V8 Supercar race win in a delayed and hard-fought second race of the weekend at Barbagallo

The initial start had to be red-flagged after 13th-place qualifier Karl Reindler stalled his Birtek/Brad Jones Holden on the grid and was collected by Steve Owen. The massive accident left Reindler's car in flames, but both drivers were able to extricate themselves from their machines and Reindler suffered only minor burns to his hands and face. He was taken to hospital for precautionary checks.

At the restart, poleman Jamie Whincup was shuffled down to third behind Bright and Alex Davison. Though race one winner Whincup soon passed Davison for second, Bright managed to establish a cushion over the Triple 8 Holden driver during the first stint.

After the pitstops though Bright found himself behind Whincup's team-mate Craig Lowndes, who had made an early pit visit on lap 15 when running fourth, and then flown on fresh tyres.

But with the soft rubber being used for today's event, Lowndes was asking a lot of his tyres, and was soon coming under pressure.

Bright passed Lowndes into Turn 1 with 12 laps to go and then pulled clear, with Lowndes eventually dropping to fourth behind Whincup and Bright's team-mate Jason Bargwanna, whose podium completed a great result for Brad Jones' squad.

Tim Slade charged from 17th on the grid to fifth ahead of Davison, with HRT's Garth Tander falling to seventh in the second half of the race having briefly got up to third after the pitstops. His reigning champion team-mate James Courtney fared even worse, finishing at the tail of the field after an excursion at the first corner led to a long pitstop for repairs.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                  Time/Gap
 1.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden      49m03.8794s
 2.  Jamie Whincup        Triple 8 Holden          + 4.4552s
 3.  Jason Bargwanna      Brad Jones Holden       + 10.6592s
 4.  Craig Lowndes        Triple 8 Holden         + 12.4874s
 5.  Tim Slade            Stone Brothers Ford     + 12.7231s
 6.  Alex Davison         Stone Brothers Ford     + 16.4454s
 7.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden              + 17.4286s
 8.  Will Davison         FPR Ford                + 33.8346s
 9.  Lee Holdsworth       Garry Rodgers Holden    + 39.6668s
10.  Shane van Gisbergen  Stone Brothers Ford     + 47.2141s
11.  Fabian Coulthard     Walkinshaw Holden       + 48.0292s
12.  Russell Ingall       Paul Morris Holden      + 49.4230s
13.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford                + 51.9350s
14.  Steven Johnson       Dick Johnson Ford       + 55.4303s
15.  Jonathon Webb        Tekno Ford              + 55.5226s
16.  Rick Kelly           Kelly Holden            + 57.4328s
17.  James Moffat         Dick Johnson Ford       + 58.6357s
18.  Michael Caruso       Garry Rodgers Holden       + 1 lap
19.  Paul Dumbrell        Rod Nash Ford              + 1 lap
20.  David Reynolds       Kelly Holden               + 1 lap
21.  Dean Fiore           Triple F Ford              + 1 lap
22.  Todd Kelly           Kelly Holden               + 1 lap
23.  Tony D'Alberto       D'Alberto Holden           + 1 lap
24.  Greg Murphy          Kelly Holden               + 1 lap
25.  Warren Luff          Lucas Dumbrell Holden     + 2 laps
26.  James Courtney       HRT Holden               + 10 laps


     Karl Reindler        Birtek Holden               0 laps
     Steve Owen           Paul Morris Holden          0 laps
Previous article Whincup adds two more poles
Next article Whincup back on top in race three