Kahne Wins Texas Busch Race

Kasey Kahne worked his way through almost the entire pack to claim the O'Reilly 300 Busch race at the Texas Motor Speedway

Kahne Wins Texas Busch Race

Kahne, who started 23rd on the grid, had one of the fastest cars on the day, steadily moving through the field to run with the leaders from early in the race, and had enough to hold off a challenge at the end to claim the an impressive win.

Controversial racer Shane Hmiel was on pole ahead of Martin Truex, who claimed the lead after the first lap, using the track time he enjoyed during yesterday's IROC event to good effect.

Kahne made good use of his car on the second fastest track in the series to move up to tenth position by lap 19, while ahead of him Hmiel fell back to sixth after being tapped from behind but managing to hold the car off the wall.

Tony Stewart had no such luck - he was helped into the wall to bring out the first caution flag on lap 29. At the restart Truex led from Mark Martin, but Kahne had the pair in his sights, eventually taking the lead around lap 50 after the first round of stops, from Greg Biffle, Martin, Hmiel and Reed Sorenson.

The race ran green until the lead pack needed to make some stops, with Kahne and Biffle in on lap 93, Martin on 95 and Hmiel one lap later. After the stops the order at the front was Biffle from Martin and Kahne.

The inevitable caution flags came out on lap 112 for debris, with everyone peeling into the pits two laps later. Sorenson took only fuel, while Truex and Hmiel changed just two tyres to get out ahead of Biffle, Martin and Kahne.

The race ran green on 118, with Hmiel having a great restart to claim the lead from Sorenson, while Truex went the opposite way - he had dropped back to seventh by the time Justin Labonte hit the wall on lap 128, keeping his car running but launching the yellow flags.

Sorenson and Truex peeled in for a full set of tyres and fuel, moving Biffle, Kahne and Martin up immediately behind Hmiel, who lost the lead to Biffle when the race ran live again.

Geoff Bodine prompted the next caution period, running into the inside wall on lap 146 and sparking some more stops. Hmiel in particular was slow due to a problem with the jack man, and after the stop he and Kahne were back in eighth and ninth respectively.

Meanwhile at the front Jamie McMurray was a surprising race leader, running ahead of Sorensen, David Green and the ubiquitous Kahne until two back to back yellow flag periods, the latter slow down sparked when Hmiel slide into wall, bounced off and tapped Ashton Lewis into Blake Feese, causing the pair to have a huge crash.

The restart came with 32 laps to go - Kahne was up to third, while Sorensen ran low to take the lead on lap 169 just as Truex found the wall, giving Hmiel a chance to pit and check his car for damage, moving him back to 23rd position.

At the green the order was Sorenson, Kahne, McMurray, Edwards and Biffle. Kahne took the lead just as a damaged Lewis hit the wall with eight to go, while just off the lead a desperately unlucky McMurray was forced to drive into the pits to retire with a slowing car.

The order was Kahne, Sorenson, Biffle, Carl Edwards and Clint Bowyer as the race ran green with just two laps to run - Biffle took a slightly ragged Sorenson on the last lap, but didn't have enough to do more, handing Kahne an easy run to the flag.

Carl Edwards' run to fourth means he holds onto the points lead, heading Sorenson by just 76 points.

O'Reilly 300, Texas Motor Speedway - Race Results:

Pos Driver Make Laps 1. Kasey Kahne Dodge 200 2. Greg Biffle Ford 200 3. Reed Sorenson Dodge 200 4. Carl Edwards Ford 200 5. Elliott Sadler Ford 200 6. Clint Bowyer Chevrolet 200 7. Matt Kenseth Ford 200 8. Jon Wood Ford 200 9. Kenny Wallace Ford 200 10. Shane Hmiel Chevrolet 200 11. David Green Ford 200 12. Joe Nemechek Chevrolet 200 13. Jason Keller Ford 200 14. Johnny Sauter Dodge 200 15. Denny Hamlin Chevrolet 200 16. Michael Waltrip Chevrolet 200 17. Tim Fedewa Dodge 200 18. David Stremme Dodge 200 19. Paul Menard Chevrolet 198 20. Sterling Marlin Dodge 198 21. Michel Jourdain Jr Ford 198 22. Derrike Cope Ford 198 23. J.J. Yeley Chevrolet 198 24. Stacy Compton Ford 198 25. Stanton Barrett Chevrolet 198 26. Jerry Robertson Chevrolet 197 27. Randy LaJoie Chevrolet 197 28. Jeremy Mayfield Dodge 197 29. Jamie McMurray Dodge 194 30. Steve Grissom Ford 194 31. Eric McClure Ford 188 32. Mark Martin Ford 187 33. Ashton Lewis Ford 183 34. Justin Labonte Chevrolet 179 35. Brent Sherman Dodge 179 36. Martin Truex Jr Chevrolet 170 37. Brandon Miller Chevrolet 160 38. Blake Feese Chevrolet 158 39. Geoffrey Bodine Chevrolet 142 40. David Ragan Chevrolet 139 41. Kertus Davis Chevrolet 99 42. Ryan Hemphill Dodge 40 43. Tony Stewart Chevrolet 27
Newman Claims 30th Pole in Texas

Previous article

Newman Claims 30th Pole in Texas

Next article

Biffle Shoots to the Top in Texas

Biffle Shoots to the Top in Texas
Load comments

About this article

Author David Cameron
Why a British prospect is trying to make it in NASCAR Plus

Why a British prospect is trying to make it in NASCAR

There has never been a full-time British driver in the NASCAR Cup. But Alex Sedgwick, who is rising through the stock car ranks, wants that to change and could be a trailblazer for European talents to reach the top echelons of the NASCAR ladder

Feb 28, 2021
How Earnhardt’s death changed American motorsport Plus

How Earnhardt’s death changed American motorsport

It's 20 years since legendary driver Dale Earnhardt Sr died at the Daytona 500, but the legacy of his crash continues today through the pioneering safety work done by NASCAR

Feb 18, 2021
The NASCAR subplots to keep an eye on in 2021 Plus

The NASCAR subplots to keep an eye on in 2021

This weekend's Daytona 500 kickstarts a NASCAR Cup season that promises plenty of intrigue courtesy of new owners and a refreshed calendar. Here's what you need to know ahead of the new season

Feb 12, 2021
How a second-chance NASCAR ace is rebuilding his career Plus

How a second-chance NASCAR ace is rebuilding his career

From a disgraced NASCAR exile, Kyle Larson has been given a shot at redemption by the powerhouse Hendrick Motorsports squad. Replacing seven-time champion Jimmie Johnson is no easy billing, but Larson has every intention of repaying the team's faith

Feb 11, 2021
Autosport's top 5 NASCAR machines Plus

Autosport's top 5 NASCAR machines

The American stock car scene is more famous for its close racing and occasional punch-ups, but there have been some fantastic machines too. As part of Autosport's 70th anniversary celebrations in 2020, we picked out five of its best

Jan 3, 2021
Why NASCAR's latest second-generation champion is just getting started Plus

Why NASCAR's latest second-generation champion is just getting started

Chase Elliott's late charge to the 2020 NASCAR Cup title defied predictions that it would be a Kevin Harvick versus Denny Hamlin showdown. While the two veterans are showing no signs of slowing down, Elliott's triumph was a window into NASCAR's future

Nov 17, 2020
Why Johnson’s playoff failure won’t tarnish his legacy Plus

Why Johnson’s playoff failure won’t tarnish his legacy

The last season of a retiring NASCAR great has shown promise, and may have resulted in another playoff push without small issues outside his control. 2020 won't be the year Jimmie Johnson would have wanted, but it won't be what he is remembered for

Sep 3, 2020
Why a Le Mans winner is heading into the “unknown world” of NASCAR Plus

Why a Le Mans winner is heading into the “unknown world” of NASCAR

Comparing Porsche's 919 HYBRID LMP1 to NASCAR is motorsport's equivalent of apples and oranges, but this weekend one of Weissach's top works aces will pit his skills against the regulars and revive the tradition of the 'road-course ringer'

Aug 13, 2020