125cc: Marquez denies Smith home pole

Mugello winner Marc Marquez denied Bradley Smith a home pole position with a brilliant lap in the final moments of Silverstone 125cc qualifying

125cc: Marquez denies Smith home pole

Smith had jumped to the top with his last run and initially looked set to delight the British crowd with his first pole position of a so far low-key year.

But Marquez - already a polesitter twice in 2010 - crossed the line with seconds to spare to start a final pole bid and managed to snatch it away from Smith by 0.3 seconds with a 2m14.667s lap.

Pol Espargaro held provisional pole for much of the session before ending up third, just ahead of points leader Nico Terol.

Johann Zarco took a career-best fifth on the grid, with Esteve Rabat grabbing sixth at the end after having countless laps disqualified for excessive use of the run-off areas.

Danny Webb gave the home crowd two Britons in the top eight by taking the final row two spot, next to Tomoyoshi Koyama.

Pos Rider Bike Time Gap 1. Marc Marquez Derbi 2m14.667s 2. Bradley Smith Aprilia 2m14.966s + 0.299s 3. Pol Espargaro Derbi 2m15.112s + 0.445s 4. Nicolas Terol Aprilia 2m15.571s + 0.904s 5. Johann Zarco Aprilia 2m16.208s + 1.541s 6. Esteve Rabat Aprilia 2m16.425s + 1.758s 7. Tomoyoshi Koyama Aprilia 2m16.660s + 1.993s 8. Daniel Webb Aprilia 2m16.689s + 2.022s 9. Efren Vazquez Derbi 2m16.714s + 2.047s 10. Randy Krummenacher Aprilia 2m16.918s + 2.251s 11. Sandro Cortese Derbi 2m17.192s + 2.525s 12. Alberto Moncayo Aprilia 2m17.248s + 2.581s 13. Luis Salom Aprilia 2m17.406s + 2.739s 14. Jasper Iwema Aprilia 2m17.669s + 3.002s 15. Simone Grotzki Giorgi Aprilia 2m17.873s + 3.206s 16. Sturla Fagerhaug Aprilia 2m18.212s + 3.545s 17. Adrian Martin Aprilia 2m18.832s + 4.165s 18. Alexis Masbou Aprilia 2m18.948s + 4.281s 19. Louis Rossi Aprilia 2m19.090s + 4.423s 20. Marcel Schrotter Honda 2m19.299s + 4.632s 21. Jakub Kornfeil Aprilia 2m19.320s + 4.653s 22. Muhammad Zulfahmi Aprilia 2m20.480s + 5.813s 23. Lorenzo Savadori Aprilia 2m20.583s + 5.916s 24. Jonas Folger Aprilia 2m20.936s + 6.269s 25. Michael van der Mark Lambretta 2m20.989s + 6.322s 26. Deane Brown Honda 2m21.967s + 7.300s 27. Taylor Mackenzie Honda 2m21.988s + 7.321s 28. Luca Marconi Aprilia 2m22.073s + 7.406s 29. Danny Kent Honda 2m22.279s + 7.612s 30. Marco Ravaioli Lambretta 2m22.773s + 8.106s 31. James Lodge Honda 2m22.885s + 8.218s 32. Andrew Reid Honda 2m26.896s + 12.229s 
125cc: Marquez claims first win at Mugello

Previous article

125cc: Marquez claims first win at Mugello

Next article

125cc: Marquez takes hard-earned 125cc win

125cc: Marquez takes hard-earned 125cc win
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto3
Author Matt Beer