Pol Espargaro claims maiden Moto2 pole at Silverstone

Pol Espargaro took his first Moto2 pole position in qualifying for the British Grand Prix at Silverstone

Pol Espargaro claims maiden Moto2 pole at Silverstone

The 21-year-old Spaniard knocked home hero Scott Redding off the top spot with eight minutes to go and then resisted a late charge by Andrea Iannone to hold on to pole.

Behind the Pons Kalex rider, Iannone was 0.385 seconds slower on his Speed Master Speed Up, while Marc VDS Kalex man Redding - his last lap ruined when he came across a slowing Thomas Luthi at Chapel - fell to third by the end.

Bradley Smith made it two British riders inside the top four on his Tech 3, while Marc Marquez (Monlau Suter) and Claudio Corti (Italtrans Kalex) completed the top six.

Championship leader Luthi will start seventh on his Paddock Suter.

Max Neukirchner, Julian Simon and Esteve Rabat all crashed.

Pos Driver Team/Car Time Gap 1. Pol Espargaro Pons Kalex 2m08.011s 2. Andrea Iannone Speed Master Speed Up 2m08.396s + 0.385s 3. Scott Redding Marc VDS Kalex 2m08.616s + 0.605s 4. Bradley Smith Tech 3 2m08.844s + 0.833s 5. Marc Marquez Monlau Suter 2m08.864s + 0.853s 6. Claudio Corti Italtrans Kalex 2m08.883s + 0.872s 7. Thomas Luthi Paddock Suter 2m09.120s + 1.109s 8. Johann Zarco JIR Motobi 2m09.353s + 1.342s 9. Alex de Angelis Forward Suter 2m09.639s + 1.628s 10. Simone Corsi Ioda FTR 2m09.776s + 1.765s 11. Dominique Aegerter Technomag-CIP Suter 2m09.801s + 1.790s 12. Randy Krummenacher Switzerland Kalex 2m09.830s + 1.819s 13. Roberto Rolfo Technomag-CIP Suter 2m09.994s + 1.983s 14. Gino Rea Gresini Suter 2m10.077s + 2.066s 15. Mike di Meglio Speed Master Speed Up 2m10.080s + 2.069s 16. Max Neukirchner Kiefer Kalex 2m10.092s + 2.081s 17. Takaaki Nakagami Italtrans Kalex 2m10.154s + 2.143s 18. Mika Kallio Marc VDS Kalex 2m10.202s + 2.191s 19. Ratthapark Wilairot Gresini Suter 2m10.276s + 2.265s 20. Esteve Rabat Pons Kalex 2m10.298s + 2.287s 21. Axel Pons Pons Kalex 2m10.383s + 2.372s 22. Toni Elias Aspar Suter 2m10.473s + 2.462s 23. Angel Rodriguez SAG Bimota 2m10.921s + 2.910s 24. Xavier Simeon Tech 3 2m10.987s + 2.976s 25. Ricard Cardus Arguinano AJR 2m11.383s + 3.372s 26. Julian Simon Avintia Suter 2m11.654s + 3.643s 27. Nicolas Terol Aspar Suter 2m11.713s + 3.702s 28. Yuki Takahashi Forward Suter 2m11.764s + 3.753s 29. Alexander Lundh MZ 2m12.084s + 4.073s 30. Anthony West QMMF Moriwaki 2m13.265s + 5.254s 31. Marco Colandrea SAG FTR 2m13.502s + 5.491s 32. Alessandro Andreozzi Andreozzi FTR 2m14.633s + 6.622s 33. Eric Granado JIR Motobi 2m14.803s + 6.792s 34. Elena Rosell QMMF Moriwaki 2m15.024s + 7.013s 
FIM stewards cancel Marc Marquez's penalty for collision with Pol Espargaro in Catalunya Moto2 race

Previous article

FIM stewards cancel Marc Marquez's penalty for collision with Pol Espargaro in Catalunya Moto2 race

Next article

Pol Espargaro secures Silverstone Moto2 victory

Pol Espargaro secures Silverstone Moto2 victory
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto2
Author Jamie O'Leary