Moto2/Moto3 testing: Pol Espargaro and Maverick Vinales fastest

Pol Espargaro and Maverick Vinales once again went quickest in Moto2 and Moto3 pre-season testing at Jerez respectively

Moto2/Moto3 testing: Pol Espargaro and Maverick Vinales fastest

Rain and fog effectively spoiled the final day of the three-day test, with the worsening conditions sealing Espargaro and Vinales' places at the top of the timesheets.

The pair also topped their respective categories in pre-season testing at Valencia one week ago.

Espargaro, runner-up to Marc Marquez in last year's Moto2 championship, went quickest in all three sessions on the second day.

The Pons rider eventually worked his way down to a 1m42.332s, leaving him just under three tenths of a second clear of Italtrans rider Takaaki Nakagami in second.

Marc VDS's Scott Redding, fourth in last year's championship, finished third fastest but more than half a second down on Espargaro.

Julian Simon on the second Italtrans and Aspar rider Nicolas Terol rounded out the top five.

Last year's Moto3 champion Sandro Cortese finished 18th fastest, just ahead of Ratthapark Wilairot, who crashed with Thomas Luthi in the Valencia test.

Luthi will miss the first two rounds of the championship after suffering multiple fractures on his arm and shoulder.

Vinales meanwhile went fastest in what proved to be the critical Moto3 session on the second afternoon, before the conditions worsened.

The Laglisse rider edged out Monlau's Alex Rins by just six thousandths of a second, while Ajo's Luis Salom made it a repeat of the Valencia top three by sealing third.

Jonas Folger was the only other man to get within one second of Vinales, giving KTM a lockout of the top four positions.

Miguel Oliviera continued Mahindra's encouraging start to 2013 by finishing fifth, just ahead of CIP's Juanfran Guevara, who finshed as the fastest rookie.

Combined Moto2 times:

Pos  Rider                   Team/Bike          Time       Gap
 1.  Pol Espargaro           Pons Kalex         1m42.332s
 2.  Takaaki Nakagami        Italtrans Kalex    1m42.631s  + 0.299s
 3.  Scott Redding           Marc VDS Kalex     1m42.849s  + 0.517s
 4.  Julian Simon            Italtrans Kalex    1m43.062s  + 0.730s
 5.  Nicolas Terol           Aspar Suter        1m43.232s  + 0.900s
 6.  Esteve Rabat            Pons Kalex         1m43.407s  + 1.075s
 7.  Mika Kallio             Marc VDS Kalex     1m43.509s  + 1.177s
 8.  Jordi Torres            Aspar Suter        1m43.549s  + 1.217s
 9.  Johann Zarco            Ioda Suter         1m43.671s  + 1.339s
10.  Dominique Aegerter      Technomag Suter    1m43.757s  + 1.425s
11.  Mike di Meglio          JIR Motobi         1m43.783s  + 1.451s
12.  Simone Corsi            Forward Speed Up   1m43.820s  + 1.488s
13.  Axel Pons               Pons Kalex         1m43.882s  + 1.550s
14.  Alex de Angelis         Forward Speed Up   1m44.078s  + 1.746s
15.  Xavier Simeon           SAG Kalex          1m44.185s  + 1.853s
16.  Mattia Pasini           Forward Speed Up   1m44.329s  + 1.997s
17.  Toni Elias              Avintia Kalex      1m44.348s  + 2.016s
18.  Sandro Cortese          Intact Kalex       1m44.404s  + 2.072s
19.  Ratthapark Wilairot     Gresini Suter      1m44.629s  + 2.297s
20.  Randy Krummenacher      Technomag Suter    1m44.695s  + 2.363s
21.  Anthony West            QMMF Speed Up      1m45.005s  + 2.673s
22.  Ricky Cardus            Forward Speed Up   1m45.139s  + 2.807s
23.  Steven Odendaal         Arginano Speed Up  1m45.267s  + 2.935s
24.  Yuki Takahashi          Tady Moriwaki      1m45.546s  + 3.214s
25.  Danny Kent              Tech 3             1m45.557s  + 3.225s
26.  Kyle Smith              Avintia Kalex      1m45.605s  + 3.273s
27.  Louis Rossi             Tech 3             1m45.614s  + 3.282s
28.  Rafid Topan Sucipto     QMMF Speed Up      1m46.380s  + 4.048s
29.  Marcel Schrotter        SAG Kalex          1m46.625s  + 4.293s
30.  Doni Tata Pradita       Gresini Suter      1m46.672s  + 4.340s
31.  Alberto Moncayo         Arginano Speed Up  1m47.286s  + 4.954s

Moto3 combined times:

Pos  Rider                Team/Bike             Time       Gap
 1.  Maverick Vinales     Laglisse KTM          1m46.805s
 2.  Alex Rins            Monlau KTM            1m46.811s  + 0.006s
 3.  Luis Salom           Ajo KTM               1m47.109s  + 0.304s
 4.  Jonas Folger         Aspar Kalex-KTM       1m47.719s  + 0.914s
 5.  Miguel Oliveira      Mahindra              1m47.958s  + 1.153s
 6.  Juanfran Guevara     CIP TSR-Honda         1m48.176s  + 1.371s
 7.  Brad Binder          Ambrogio Suter-Honda  1m48.319s  + 1.514s
 8.  Efren Vazquez        Mahindra              1m48.327s  + 1.522s
 9.  Danny Webb           Ambrogio Suter-Honda  1m48.476s  + 1.671s
10.  Jakub Kornfeil       RW Kalex-KTM          1m48.699s  + 1.894s
11.  Toni Finsterbusch    Kiefer Kalex-KTM      1m48.751s  + 1.946s
12.  Isaac Vinales        Ongetta FTR-Honda     1m48.836s  + 2.031s
13.  Romano Fenati        Italia FTR-Honda      1m48.842s  + 2.037s
14.  Jack Miller          RTG FTR-Honda         1m49.185s  + 2.380s
15.  Alex Marquez         Monlau KTM            1m49.201s  + 2.396s
16.  Alessandro Tonucci   Tasca Honda           1m49.333s  + 2.528s
17.  Alexis Masbou        Ongetta FTR-Honda     1m49.358s  + 2.553s
18.  Jasper Iwema         RW Kalex-KTM          1m49.511s  + 2.706s
19.  Eric Granado         Aspar Kalex-KTM       1m49.534s  + 2.729s
20.  Zulfahmi Khairuddin  Ajo KTM               1m49.553s  + 2.748s
21.  Livio Loi            Marc VDS Kalex-KTM    1m49.576s  + 2.771s
22.  Ana Carrasco         Laglisse KTM          1m49.673s  + 2.868s
23.  Philipp Oettl        Paddock Kalex-KTM     1m49.678s  + 2.873s
24.  Arthur Sissis        Ajo KTM               1m49.769s  + 2.964s
25.  Niccolo Antonelli    Gresini FTR-Honda     1m49.774s  + 2.969s
26.  Francesco Bagnaia    Italia FTR-Honda      1m49.829s  + 3.024s
27.  Matteo Ferrari       Ongetta FTR-Honda     1m49.946s  + 3.141s
28.  Lorenzo Baldassarri  Gresini FTR-Honda     1m50.072s  + 3.267s
29.  John McPhee          RTG FTR-Honda         1m50.101s  + 3.296s
30.  Niklas Ajo           Avant KTM             1m50.140s  + 3.335s
31.  Hyuga Watanabe       Tasca Honda           1m50.323s  + 3.518s
32.  Alan Techer          CIP TSR-Honda         1m50.588s  + 3.783s
33.  Florian Alt          Kiefer Kalex-KTM      1m50.642s  + 3.837s
Injured Moto2 title contender Tom Luthi could miss first 2013 race
Previous article

Injured Moto2 title contender Tom Luthi could miss first 2013 race

Next article

Moto2 Qatar: Pol Espargaro takes pole, despite early crash

Moto2 Qatar: Pol Espargaro takes pole, despite early crash