Moto2: Maiden Moto2 pole for Simon

Reigning 125cc champion Julian Simon secured his first Moto2 pole position in a thrilling climax to Indianapolis qualifying

Moto2: Maiden Moto2 pole for Simon

Going into the closing seconds the Marc VDS team looked set for a one-two on the grid, with Hector Faubel having just knocked his team-mate Scott Redding off the top spot.

But then fellow Suter rider Simon (Aspar) outshone them both, blasting in a 1m46.139s lap to beat Faubel by 0.148 seconds and practice pacesetter Redding by 0.195s, with the latter frustrated by traffic delays as he tried to fight back.

Simone Corsi completed the front row on the JiR Motobi.

Former Kawasaki MotoGP rider Anthony West broke into the top ten for MZ for the first time by taking fifth. All the men in the top five achieved their best Moto2 qualifying results to date.

Championship leader Toni Elias (Gresini Moriwaki) had held provisional pole for much of the session, before Redding usurped him. Moments later, Elias lost balance on the bumps at Turn 6 and fell, and while he was able to jump straight back on and continue, his pole challenge was over and he tumbled to sixth ahead of Ratthapark Wilairot and Sergio Gadea.

But Elias still looks set to extend his points advantage tomorrow as his main rival Andrea Iannone is currently in the medical centre after a heavy crash. The sidelined Speed Up rider was left 26th on the grid.

Fonsi Nieto also required medical assistance following an accident, although his time stood for 12th. Arne Tode and Raffaele de Rosa had crashes too, but the latter still managed to take 10th on the grid.

Wild card rider Roger Lee Hayden, brother of Ducati MotoGP star Nicky, was 29th on his series debut.

Pos Rider Bike Time Gap 1. Julian Simon Suter 1m46.139s 2. Hector Faubel Suter 1m46.287s + 0.148s 3. Scott Redding Suter 1m46.334s + 0.195s 4. Simone Corsi Motobi 1m46.358s + 0.219s 5. Anthony West MZ 1m46.365s + 0.226s 6. Toni Elias Moriwaki 1m46.368s + 0.229s 7. Ratthapark Wilairot Bimota 1m46.454s + 0.315s 8. Sergio Gadea Pons Kalex 1m46.561s + 0.422s 9. Stefan Bradl Suter 1m46.709s + 0.570s 10. Raffaele De Rosa Tech 3 1m46.739s + 0.600s 11. Michael Ranseder Suter 1m46.821s + 0.682s 12. Fonsi Nieto Moriwaki 1m46.900s + 0.761s 13. Yuki Takahashi Tech 3 1m46.935s + 0.796s 14. Claudio Corti Suter 1m46.942s + 0.803s 15. Lukas Pesek Moriwaki 1m46.959s + 0.820s 16. Gabor Talmacsi Speed Up 1m46.962s + 0.823s 17. Thomas Luthi Moriwaki 1m47.004s + 0.865s 18. Jules Cluzel Suter 1m47.031s + 0.892s 19. Roberto Rolfo Suter 1m47.052s + 0.913s 20. Alex Baldolini ICP 1m47.062s + 0.923s 21. Dominique Aegerter Suter 1m47.075s + 0.936s 22. Mike Di Meglio Suter 1m47.084s + 0.945s 23. Yonny Hernandez BQR 1m47.098s + 0.959s 24. Shoya Tomizawa Suter 1m47.171s + 1.032s 25. Vladimir Ivanov Moriwaki 1m47.224s + 1.085s 26. Andrea Iannone Speed Up 1m47.261s + 1.122s 27. Jason Di Salvo FTR 1m47.302s + 1.163s 28. Axel Pons Pons Kalex 1m47.313s + 1.174s 29. Roger Lee Hayden Moriwaki 1m47.390s + 1.251s 30. Kenny Noyes Promoharris 1m47.514s + 1.375s 31. Valentin Debise ADV 1m47.551s + 1.412s 32. Arne Tode Suter 1m47.581s + 1.442s 33. Robertino Pietri Suter 1m47.751s + 1.612s 34. Alex Debon FTR 1m47.796s + 1.657s 35. Ricard Cardus Bimota 1m47.937s + 1.798s 36. Joan Olive Promoharris 1m48.188s + 2.049s 37. Yusuke Teshima Motobi 1m48.275s + 2.136s 38. Mashel Al Naimi BQR 1m48.421s + 2.282s 39. Yannick Guerra Moriwaki 1m48.905s + 2.766s 40. Karel Abraham FTR 
Moto2: Elias wins again in Moto2

Previous article

Moto2: Elias wins again in Moto2

Next article

Moto2: Elias wins restarted Moto2 race

Moto2: Elias wins restarted Moto2 race
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto2
Drivers Julian Simon
Author Matt Beer