Moto2: Elias wins restarted Moto2 race

Toni Elias edged closer to the inaugural Moto2 title by winning his third straight race in a restarted and shortened Indianapolis event

Moto2: Elias wins restarted Moto2 race

The original start had to be abandoned after two separate multi-bike tangles at Turn 2 saw eight riders crash, with Gabor Talmacsi, Simone Corsi, Raffaele de Rosa, Roger Lee Hayden and Shoya Tomizawa among them, although the latter was the only one who failed to take the restart half an hour later.

Polesitter Julian Simon had held the lead on the initial getaway, ahead of Anthony West, Scott Redding and Elias. But at the restart it was Elias who surged to the front, as Simon dropped back to fourth behind Redding and West.

Simon was soon on the move, retaking West and Redding, and then sweeping past Elias into the first corner on lap four.

The top three broke away together, with Simon looking in control until lap 11, when a bold move by Elias saw him blast around the outside at Turn 1 and back into the lead. Simon stayed with him, but had to settle for second, while Redding shadowed them to take a first Moto2 podium in third.

Elias' main title rival Andrea Iannone had started only 26th following a massive qualifying crash. He surged through to 12th at the first start, but only made it to 18th at the second attempt - although this did not stop him hacking through the field with ease once the race was underway.

Iannone eventually made it through to a stunning fourth, just ahead of the even more impressive Corsi, who came from last to fifth having been embroiled in the original start crash.

Sergio Gadea held off Thomas Luthi and Gabor Talmacsi for sixth. West slipped back to 10th behind American wild card Justin di Salvo.

Several riders crashed while running strongly, with Ratthapark Wilairot distraught to throw away seventh, and Hector Faubel's bike tumbling down the track with a fuel fire erupting behind it when he crashed out of fifth early on. He was unhurt.

Pos Rider Bike Time/Gap 1. Toni Elias Moriwaki 30m27.480s 2. Julian Simon Suter + 0.405s 3. Scott Redding Suter + 4.227s 4. Andrea Iannone Speed Up + 5.978s 5. Simone Corsi Motobi + 7.058s 6. Sergio Gadea Pons Kalex + 9.432s 7. Thomas Luthi Moriwaki + 9.815s 8. Gabor Talmacsi Speed Up + 10.141s 9. Jason di Salvo FTR + 17.564s 10. Anthony West MZ + 17.592s 11. Dominique Aegerter Suter + 17.618s 12. Mike di Meglio Suter + 20.527s 13. Claudio Corti Suter + 26.008s 14. Axel Pons Pons Kalex + 28.353s 15. Yonny Hernandez BQR + 30.480s 16. Alex Baldolini ICP + 30.538s 17. Roger Lee Hayden Moriwaki + 31.860s 18. Valentin Debise ADV + 32.255s 19. Kenny Noyes Promoharris + 32.500s 20. Lukas Pesek Moriwaki + 32.529s 21. Robertino Pietri Suter + 44.569s 22. Joan Olive Promoharris + 44.956s 23. Arne Tode Suter + 52.993s 24. Yannick Guerra Moriwaki + 57.481s 25. Roberto Rolfo Suter + 1m16.404s 26. Yuki Takahashi Tech 3 + 3 laps Retirements: Mashel Al Naimi BQR 12 laps Jules Cluzel Suter 11 laps Ratthapark Wilairot Bimota 8 laps Raffaele De Rosa Tech 3 6 laps Stefan Bradl Suter 5 laps Ricard Cardus Bimota 2 laps Yusuke Teshima Motobi 2 laps Hector Faubel Suter 1 lap Alex Debon FTR 1 lap Vladimir Ivanov Moriwaki 1 lap Shoya Tomizawa Suter 0 laps Michael Ranseder Suter 0 laps 
Moto2: Maiden Moto2 pole for Simon

Previous article

Moto2: Maiden Moto2 pole for Simon

Next article

Moto2: Elias beats Redding to Moto2 pole

Moto2: Elias beats Redding to Moto2 pole
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto2
Author Matt Beer