Moto2: Elias wins as crash mars Moto2 race

Championship leader Toni Elias claimed his sixth Moto2 win of the year at Misano, but the result was overshadowed by a horrific accident in the lead pack involving Shoya Tomizawa, Alex de Angelis and Scott Redding

Moto2: Elias wins as crash mars Moto2 race

The incident occurred on lap 12, when the trio were part of a seven-bike breakaway group along with Elias, Jules Cluzel, Simone Corsi and Julian Simon.

Fourth-placed Tomizawa crashed coming onto the back straight and slid into the path of de Angelis and Redding, who could do nothing to avoid the Japanese rider and his crashed bike. While de Angelis was able to walk away uninjured, both Redding and Tomizawa were taken to the medical centre for further evaluation.

The crash split up the lead group, which had been spectacular in the early stages. Andrea Iannone thrust into the lead on lap one before being given a jump-start penalty, and then Tomizawa, Redding and Cluzel all took turns in first.

Gresini Moriwaki rider Elias reached the front by lap six, and gradually started to shake off his pursuers, finally winning by two seconds over Aspar's Simon.

Tom Luthi clawed his way through from 15th on the grid to pass Corsi for third with three laps to go, while Cluzel's pace also faded and he ended up sixth behind Stefan Bradl, and only just ahead of Gabor Talmacsi.

Xavier Simeon had passed Cluzel for sixth in the closing stages only to make a mistake on the final lap. Other riders to fall while in the top 10 included Yuki Takahashi, who crashed out of fifth, and returnee Mattia Pasini, who fell when eighth.

Iannone rejoined 36th after his penalty, battled through to 15th, and then retired with a mechanical problem, dropping him from second to fourth in the championship and making an Elias crown look even more likely.

Pos Rider Bike Time/Gap 1. Toni Elias Moriwaki 43m33.996s 2. Julian Simon Suter + 1.969s 3. Thomas Luthi Moriwaki + 11.917s 4. Simone Corsi Motobi + 15.409s 5. Stefan Bradl Suter + 16.219s 6. Jules Cluzel Suter + 16.676s 7. Gabor Talmacsi Speed Up + 16.852s 8. Dominique Aegerter Suter + 18.330s 9. Claudio Corti Suter + 20.650s 10. Roberto Rolfo Suter + 29.678s 11. Yonny Hernandez BQR + 32.720s 12. Ratthapark Wilairot Bimota + 35.098s 13. Raffaele de Rosa Tech 3 + 35.428s 14. Michael Ranseder Suter + 35.933s 15. Lukas Pesek Moriwaki + 37.012s 16. Hector Faubel Suter + 40.950s 17. Anthony West MZ + 41.752s 18. Axel Pons Pons Kalex + 41.878s 19. Xavier Simeon Moriwaki + 47.566s 20. Ricard Cardus Bimota + 57.026s 21. Joan Olive FTR + 57.119s 22. Valentin Debise ADV + 1m00.833s 23. Ferruccio Lamborghini Suter + 1m02.316s 24. Kenny Noyes Promoharris + 1m05.795s 25. Tatsuya Yamaguchi Moriwaki + 1m09.977s 26. Yannick Guerra Moriwaki + 1m16.520s 27. Mashel Al Naimi BQR + 1m16.563s 28. Niccolo Canepa Bimota + 1m17.479s 29. Robertino Pietri Suter + 1m41.039s Retirements: Andrea Iannone Speed Up 23 laps Alex Baldolini ICP 23 laps Yuki Takahashi Tech 3 21 laps Sergio Gadea Pons Kalex 14 laps Shoya Tomizawa Suter 11 laps Alex de Angelis Motobi 11 laps Scott Redding Suter 11 laps Mattia Pasini Suter 10 laps Mike di Meglio Suter 7 laps 
Moto2: Elias beats Redding to Moto2 pole
Previous article

Moto2: Elias beats Redding to Moto2 pole

Next article

Moto2: Tomizawa killed in Moto2 accident

Moto2: Tomizawa killed in Moto2 accident
Load comments