Moto2: De Angelis beats Redding to pole

Alex de Angelis took his first Moto2 pole position at Phillip Island, denying Scott Redding his own maiden pole in the final moments

Moto2: De Angelis beats Redding to pole

Redding, who has missed out on pole at the last minute several times this year, seemed certain to secure the top spot on this occasion as he took the provisional top spot once the field switched to slicks mid-session, and then repeatedly improved his pace.

Andrea Iannone looked like he might manage to pip Redding, only to have a fall, and with the rain appearing set to return, Marc VDS Suter rider Redding looked assured of pole.

However the rain held off, and de Angelis (JiR Motobi) dodged through the traffic to set a 1m35.148s and beat Redding by 0.2 seconds as the flag came out.

Stefan Bradl returned to the front row in third on the Kiefer Suter, alongside Aspar Suter's Mike di Meglio, who took his best start of the season in fourth.

Iannone recovered from his incident with nothing worse than a muddy Speed Up and proceeded to qualify fifth, ahead of Julian Simon (Aspar).

Champion Toni Elias (Gresini Moriwaki) struggled to get a lap in when the track was dry, and only salvaged ninth late on, while last week's winner Roby Rolfo crashed and tumbled to 25th place.

The session started out wet following the shower at the end of MotoGP qualifying, and Australian Superbike rider Wayne Maxwell impressed on his debut for Matteoni Racing in the conditions - taking provisional pole for a while before everyone switched to slicks. He was quick in the dry too and will start from 11th place.

Pos Rider Bike Time Gap 1. Alex de Angelis Motobi 1m35.148s 2. Scott Redding Suter 1m35.378s + 0.230s 3. Stefan Bradl Suter 1m35.578s + 0.430s 4. Mike di Meglio Suter 1m35.696s + 0.548s 5. Andrea Iannone Speed Up 1m35.870s + 0.722s 6. Julian Simon Suter 1m35.883s + 0.735s 7. Michael Ranseder Suter 1m35.935s + 0.787s 8. Raffaele de Rosa Tech 3 1m36.091s + 0.943s 9. Toni Elias Moriwaki 1m36.105s + 0.957s 10. Karel Abraham FTR 1m36.133s + 0.985s 11. Wayne Maxwell Moriwaki 1m36.146s + 0.998s 12. Thomas Luthi Moriwaki 1m36.212s + 1.064s 13. Hector Faubel Suter 1m36.243s + 1.095s 14. Simone Corsi Motobi 1m36.245s + 1.097s 15. Fonsi Nieto Moriwaki 1m36.304s + 1.156s 16. Claudio Corti Suter 1m36.319s + 1.171s 17. Jules Cluzel Suter 1m36.326s + 1.178s 18. Axel Pons Pons Kalex 1m36.348s + 1.200s 19. Yuki Takahashi Tech 3 1m36.389s + 1.241s 20. Alex Baldolini ICP 1m36.392s + 1.244s 21. Alex Debon FTR 1m36.448s + 1.300s 22. Gabor Talmacsi Speed Up 1m36.515s + 1.367s 23. Anthony West MZ 1m36.719s + 1.571s 24. Yonny Hernandez BQR 1m36.775s + 1.627s 25. Roberto Rolfo Suter 1m36.840s + 1.692s 26. Dominique Aegerter Suter 1m37.169s + 2.021s 27. Ratthapark Wilairot Bimota 1m37.229s + 2.081s 28. Sergio Gadea Pons Kalex 1m37.335s + 2.187s 29. Javier Fores Bimota 1m37.373s + 2.225s 30. Valentin Debise ADV 1m37.634s + 2.486s 31. Vladimir Ivanov Moriwaki 1m37.798s + 2.650s 32. Robertino Pietri Suter 1m38.129s + 2.981s 33. Alexander Cudlin BQR 1m38.422s + 3.274s 34. Kazuki Watanabe Suter 1m38.781s + 3.633s 35. Kenny Noyes Promoharris 1m38.835s + 3.687s 36. Joan Olive Promoharris 1m39.318s + 4.170s 37. Yannick Guerra Moriwaki 1m40.095s + 4.947s 38. Mashel Al Naimi BQR 1m40.274s + 5.126s 39. Hiromichi Kunikawa Bimota 1m41.716s + 6.568s 
Moto2: Rolfo's win, Elias's title at Sepang

Previous article

Moto2: Rolfo's win, Elias's title at Sepang

Next article

Moto2: De Angelis fights to first Moto2 win

Moto2: De Angelis fights to first Moto2 win
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto2
Author Matt Beer