Moto2: Aoyama leads KTM one-two

Hiroshi Aoyama led Mika Kallio for a KTM one-two in the 250cc German Grand Prix, with the two riders snatching victory from Alex de Angelis on the last lap

Moto2: Aoyama leads KTM one-two

The San Marino rider led the race from lap six and did not give up the lead until the final lap, when he was first passed by Aoyama, and then by Kallio on the very last corner, where he made an obvious mistake in his effort to regain the lead.

Andrea Dovizioso had the best getaway from second on the grid to lead at the first corner. The Honda rider tried to create a bit of a gap to the rest of the pack, but he was soon joined by de Angelis, who after taking the lead on the sixth lap seemed to be able to run away with the race.

But Aoyama would have none of it. The Japanese started the race from sixth on the grid, and was soon fighting it out for second place with Kallio, Dovizioso once he lost the lead, and Hector Barbera.

The latter made a string of bad overtaking attempts at the first corner between lap 11 and lap 19.

At least five times the Spaniard braked very late in his effort to overtake his rivals, but each time he only managed to slow himself and the other riders down by going wide and forcing the others to do the same while trying to avoid making contact.

Around lap 20 Aoyama managed to put some distance over his pursuers and started to make up the lost ground over de Angelis. The Aprilia rider was clearly having trouble keeping his lead for the last few laps, but looked very disappointed to have also lost second place.

Championship leader Jorge Lorenzo didn't have a good first half of the race, when he fell to seventh place, but he then started to make up ground and ultimately finished fourth, just half a second behind the winner.

Dovizioso ended the race in fifth place after having been overtaken by Lorenzo just two laps from the end. Barbera was classified sixth, over ten seconds behind Dovizioso, with Marco Simoncelli a further five seconds behind.

Yuki Takahashi finished eighth, Thomas Luthi ninth, and Roberto Locatelli completing the top ten.

Alvaro Bautista and Efren Vazquez fell on the third lap, Dan Linfoot on the seventh, Julian Simon on the 15th, and Eugene Laverty on lap 20.

Classified: Pos Rider Bike Time 1. Hiroshi Aoyama KTM 41:16.191 2. Mika Kallio KTM + 0.119 3. Alex de Angelis Aprilia + 0.274 4. Jorge Lorenzo Aprilia + 0.579 5. Andrea Dovizioso Honda + 1.296 6. Hector Barbera Aprilia + 11.851 7. Marco Simoncelli Gilera + 17.308 8. Yuki Takahashi Honda + 22.309 9. Thomas Luthi Aprilia + 28.858 10. R.Locatelli Gilera + 35.983 11. Aleix Espargaro Aprilia + 37.377 12. Shuhei Aoyama Honda + 42.211 13. Dirk Heidolf Aprilia + 51.095 14. Alex Baldolini Aprilia + 53.416 15. Jules Cluzel Aprilia + 55.996 16. Taro Sekiguchi Aprilia + 56.105 17. Alvaro Bautista Aprilia +1:07.435 18. Fabrizio Lai Aprilia +1:09.728 19. R.Wilairot Honda +1:17.640 Not classified: Rider Bike Laps Karel Abraham Aprilia 19 Thomas Walther Honda 19 Eugene Laverty Honda 18 Julian Simon Honda 14 Imre Toth Aprilia 13 Dan Linfoot Aprilia 4 Alvaro Molina Aprilia 4 Joshua Sommer Honda 3 Efren Vazquez Aprilia 2 
Moto2: Kallio claims first pole

Previous article

Moto2: Kallio claims first pole

Next article

Moto2: Debon to replace Lorenzo next year

Moto2: Debon to replace Lorenzo next year
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto2
Author Michele Lostia