Marc Marquez secures home Moto2 pole at Jerez

Qatar Moto2 race-winner Marc Marquez maintained his strong start to the season by securing pole position at Jerez

Marc Marquez secures home Moto2 pole at Jerez

The Spaniard broke clear of a group of six riders, all of whom had been trading fastest times, with a 1m43.355s just under 20 minutes from the session's end.

It was always likely that would be bettered, and so it proved as Marquez twice went faster, shaving more than three tenths off his benchmark.

That proved instrumental in securing pole, as moments later Takaaki Nakagami (Italtrans Kalex) got within eight hundredths of Marquez's new best, earning himself second in the process.

Thomas Luthi - who beat Marquez to pole in Qatar - was also in contention until losing the front end of his bike mid-way through his flying lap.

He ended fourth as a result, Pol Espargaro (Pons Kalex) taking the final spot on the front row.

Marc VDS's Mika Kallio and Claudio Corti (Italtrans Kalex) took a share of the second row, ahead of Esteve Rabat (Pons Kalex), Mike di Meglio (Speed Master) and Randy Krummenacher (Switzerland Kalex).

Johann Zarco, pacesetter for much of practice, ended up 10th fastest.

Scott Redding, like Luthi a late faller in qualifying, was 12th fastest ahead of Qatar runner-up Andrea Iannone.

Pos Rider Team/Bike Time Gap 1. Marc Marquez Monlau Suter 1m43.005s 2. Takaaki Nakagami Italtrans Kalex 1m43.085s + 0.080s 3. Pol Espargaro Pons Kalex 1m43.273s + 0.268s 4. Thomas Luthi Paddock Suter 1m43.310s + 0.305s 5. Mika Kallio Marc VDS Kalex 1m43.367s + 0.362s 6. Claudio Corti Italtrans Kalex 1m43.396s + 0.391s 7. Esteve Rabat Pons Kalex 1m43.651s + 0.646s 8. Mike di Meglio Speed Master Speed Up 1m43.778s + 0.773s 9. Randy Krummenacher Switzerland Kalex 1m43.858s + 0.853s 10. Johann Zarco JIR Motobi 1m43.959s + 0.954s 11. Alex de Angelis Forward Suter 1m44.052s + 1.047s 12. Scott Redding Marc VDS Kalex 1m44.144s + 1.139s 13. Andrea Iannone Speed Master Speed Up 1m44.204s + 1.199s 14. Max Neukirchner Kiefer Kalex 1m44.212s + 1.207s 15. Dominique Aegerter Technomag-CIP Suter 1m44.223s + 1.218s 16. Toni Elias Aspar Suter 1m44.254s + 1.249s 17. Xavier Simeon Tech 3 1m44.308s + 1.303s 18. Simone Corsi Ioda FTR 1m44.354s + 1.349s 19. Bradley Smith Tech 3 1m44.406s + 1.401s 20. Ricard Cardus Arguinano AJR 1m44.532s + 1.527s 21. Roberto Rolfo Technomag-CIP Suter 1m44.640s + 1.635s 22. Yuki Takahashi Forward Suter 1m44.719s + 1.714s 23. Gino Rea Gresini Moriwaki 1m45.095s + 2.090s 24. Angel Rodriguez SAG FTR 1m45.309s + 2.304s 25. Julian Simon Avintia FTR 1m45.538s + 2.533s 26. Axel Pons Pons Kalex 1m45.607s + 2.602s 27. Alexander Lundh MZ FTR 1m45.834s + 2.829s 28. Nicolas Terol Aspar Suter 1m45.961s + 2.956s 29. Anthony West QMMF Moriwaki 1m46.117s + 3.112s 30. Ratthapark Wilairot Gresini Moriwaki 1m46.211s + 3.206s 31. Elena Rosell QMMF Moriwaki 1m47.284s + 4.279s 32. Marco Colandrea SAG FTR 1m47.304s + 4.299s 
Marc Marquez wins Moto2 comeback race in Qatar

Previous article

Marc Marquez wins Moto2 comeback race in Qatar

Next article

Pol Espargaro awarded maiden victory as rain truncates Jerez Moto2 race

Pol Espargaro awarded maiden victory as rain truncates Jerez Moto2 race
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto2
Drivers Alex Marquez
Author Sam Tremayne