Watkins Glen IndyCar: Scott Dixon stays on top in Friday practice

Scott Dixon completed a productive day at Watkins Glen by topping the second IndyCar practice for Chip Ganassi Racing

The practice one pacesetter looked to be in control throughout, despite leaving it almost 30 minutes into the two-hour session before taking to the track.

A trio of timesheet-topping times from Dixon mid-way through culminated in a 1m23.1093s, but in the dying minutes Will Power squeezed enough from his Penske Dallara-Chevrolet to go quickest by 0.0376 seconds.

Not to be outdone, Dixon came back to set the only 1m22s time of the afternoon to end the day quickest.

The mammoth two-hour practice gave the drivers plenty of opportunities to try out race runs and work on car set-up, with Helio Castroneves seemingly most comfortable with his Penske Dallara-Chevrolet's balance as he finished second, 0.1587s down on Dixon and ahead of Power in third.

Tony Kanaan showed good pace in his session for fourth, but had a minor trip off track in the closing moments - at the same time as championship leader Simon Pagenaud spun into the Turn 7 tyres.

Juan Pablo Montoya was fifth, ahead of Jack Hawksworth, who was quickest of the Honda contingent for AJ Foyt.

Texas race winner Graham Rahal, Josef Newgarden, Sebastien Bourdais and Max Chilton rounded out the top 10.

Pagenaud could only manage a time good enough for 11th, 0.8730s down on Dixon's pace.

Several drivers suffered minor faults that brought out the red flags, but all were able to sort their problems.

First Takuma Sato stopped in the first 15 minutes on the straight between Turns 7 and 8, before stopping again in the pitlane later on with a shortage of fuel. He ended the day 12th.

Newgarden suffered a cut tyre halfway through the session, believed to have been caused by debris, but was able to get back to the pits for a change to finish the day eighth.

Conor Daly recovered from his heavy shunt in first practice to take part on most of the second session and managed to end his day in 17th.


Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap Laps
1 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m22.8740s - 29
2 Helio Castroneves Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m23.0327s 0.1587s 36
3 Will Power Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m23.0717s 0.1977s 32
4 Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m23.1692s 0.2952s 36
5 Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m23.3646s 0.4906s 24
6 Jack Hawksworth AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Honda 1m23.4463s 0.5723s 33
7 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 1m23.5963s 0.7223s 36
8 Josef Newgarden Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m23.6279s 0.7539s 39
9 Sebastien Bourdais KVSH Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m23.6582s 0.7842s 33
10 Max Chilton Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m23.7107s 0.8367s 38
11 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m23.7470s 0.8730s 29
12 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Honda 1m23.7894s 0.9154s 36
13 Spencer Pigot Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m23.8604s 0.9864s 38
14 Mikhail Aleshin Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 1m23.9543s 1.0803s 33
15 Alexander Rossi Andretti Herta Dallara/Honda 1m24.0663s 1.1923s 26
16 Carlos Munoz Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m24.1767s 1.3027s 28
17 Conor Daly Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 1m24.2625s 1.3885s 26
18 Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m24.2790s 1.4050s 25
19 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m24.3200s 1.4460s 25
20 R.C. Enerson Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 1m24.5840s 1.7100s 35
21 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 1m24.8903s 2.0163s 27
22 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m24.9208s 2.0468s 23

Previous article IndyCar Watkins Glen: Scott Dixon leads crash-interrupted practice
Next article IndyCar drivers stunned by speeds on Watkins Glen return