Watkins Glen IndyCar: Scott Dixon completes practice clean sweep

Scott Dixon completed a trio of IndyCar session-topping times at Watkins Glen by setting the fastest lap of the weekend during third practice

Following quickest times of 1m23.8921s and 1m22.8740s in Friday's first two sessions, the Chip Ganassi Racing driver put his Dallara-Chevrolet on top with a 1m22.8008s in a comfortably controlled 45-minute Saturday morning practice.

Will Power was second quickest, 0.0538 seconds down on Dixon, while Sebastien Bourdais made it three Chevrolet runners in the top three.

James Hinchcliffe and Jack Hawksworth led the Honda contingent in fourth and fifth respectively - Hinchcliffe was 0.1789s down on Dixon's time.

Part-time Rahal Letterman Lanigan racer Spencer Pigot impressed by ending up sixth.

Graham Rahal, Mikhail Aleshin, Charlie Kimball and Max Chilton completed the top 10.

Aleshin's practice was ruined by a rear-first crash into the tyres while running in Carlos Munoz's dirty air, but he managed to avoid any significant damage.

The pressure continued to mount on long-time championship leader Simon Pagenaud though, who only managed 14th.

The session was headlined by a shunt for Josef Newgarden in a continuation of his difficult weekend.

The Ed Carpenter Racing driver lost the rear of his Dallara-Chevy through the middle of Turn 7 heading into The Boot - the same place Pagenaud crashed on Friday - and a tap onto the outer kerb caused damage to Newgarden's rear wing. That left him 22nd.

The shunt followed an incident during second practice in which a left rear puncture was caused by suspected debris on the track.

Takuma Sato had a moment at Turn 9 to bring out the red flags for the second time with just over 10 minutes remaining, ending his practice in 15th.


Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap Laps
1 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m22.8008s - 17
2 Will Power Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m22.8546s 0.0538s 14
3 Sebastien Bourdais KVSH Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m22.9492s 0.1484s 13
4 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 1m22.9797s 0.1789s 16
5 Jack Hawksworth AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Honda 1m23.0205s 0.2197s 15
6 Spencer Pigot Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m23.0808s 0.2800s 17
7 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 1m23.1159s 0.3151s 20
8 Mikhail Aleshin Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 1m23.1918s 0.3910s 15
9 Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m23.2093s 0.4085s 21
10 Max Chilton Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m23.2371s 0.4363s 16
11 Helio Castroneves Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m23.3824s 0.5816s 16
12 Alexander Rossi Andretti Herta Dallara/Honda 1m23.3917s 0.5909s 16
13 Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m23.3983s 0.5975s 15
14 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m23.6876s 0.8868s 20
15 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Honda 1m23.7290s 0.9282s 12
16 Conor Daly Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 1m23.7471s 0.9463s 17
17 Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m23.7518s 0.9510s 17
18 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m23.8222s 1.0214s 15
19 Carlos Munoz Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m24.1315s 1.3307s 15
20 R.C. Enerson Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 1m24.2774s 1.4766s 12
21 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m24.4164s 1.6156s 16
22 Josef Newgarden Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m24.5195s 1.7187s 6

Previous article IndyCar drivers stunned by speeds on Watkins Glen return
Next article IndyCar Watkins Glen: Scott Dixon on pole by less than 0.1s