IndyCar stands by Scott Dixon's controversial Sonoma pit penalty

IndyCar race director Beaux Barfield insists that he was correct to penalise Ganassi's Scott Dixon for the pitlane collision with a Penske crew member during Sunday's race at Sonoma

IndyCar stands by Scott Dixon's controversial Sonoma pit penalty

Dixon was leading ahead of Will Power when the pair stopped together on lap 65 at the end of their third stint. Dixon's pit box was directly behind Power's, and Ganassi was able to complete his stop and get him out while Penske was still working on Power's car.

But due to the tight pitlane, Dixon cut through the corner of Power's pit box just as Travis Law, Power's right-rear wheel man, was walking back to the pitwall.

Dixon's car clipped the tyre that Law was carrying, flipping him into the air, while two other Penske crew members were also brought down after being caught by the air hose.

All three escaped injury, and Dixon was issued a drive-through penalty that relegated him to 21st, although he later recovered to 15th.

The penalty prompted outrage from Ganassi, but Barfield is adamant that it was fair.

"You can see the difference between the Target and the Verizon signs on the pitwall, and if you look at that with the #9 [Dixon] car leaving the pitlane you clearly see that he goes right into the pitbox of the #12 [Power] car, and that's where the violation occurred," Barfield said.

"From the overhead, he's actually in the pitbox for the car in front of him by a solid half car-length. So that made it easy for us to make the call.

"You look at risk versus reward; the risk of hurting somebody in pitlane versus gaining a couple of tenths or even a second in pitlane is certainly not worth it, and not something that we're going to look away from and not penalise."

DIXON: PENSKE'S ACTIONS BLATANT

Dixon, whose title hopes were dealt a blow by the incident, remained convinced that Penske had interfered with his stop deliberately.

"It looks like he [the crew member] walked straight into our car," he said. "You could see where the other car in front of us was pitted and he walked into us, on purpose. That's probably the most blatant thing I've seen in a long time."

Accusations of sabotage were swiftly rejected by Team Penske owner Roger Penske.

"Our man who changed the tyre picked the tyre up, [and] was running behind the car. It wasn't that he stuck the tyre out. He didn't leave the tyre on the ground where it could have been in the way.

"I think they're way overplaying this thing as far as I'm concerned. Obviously the #9 car was too close to our crew and had an accident there. The outcome is obvious. So I feel bad for Scott. [But] these are things that are pretty clear in the rule book. If a team member gets hit in the pits, there's a drive-through."

AUTOSPORT SAYS
Mark Glendenning, US editor
@m_glendenning

There's nothing like a controversial call in the heat of a championship battle to stoke the emotions, and even those in no position to make judgements were quick to draw conclusions on Sunday.

For those watching at home the situation was made more complicated by the white lines on the pit road, which appear to denote pit boxes, but in fact are actually used by NASCAR, not IndyCar.

There's no doubt that Dixon cut through Power's pitbox, but the pitlane is so tight that he had no option. The only reason it mattered was that on this occasion there was a guy there.

You'd like to think that gamesmanship between teams does not extend to putting personnel at risk, and while there's no suggestion that Penke deliberately exposed Law to harm, a crew member from a team not involved in the incident told AUTOSPORT that subtle tricks to make life hard for rivals in the pits are standard fare.

If that's the case, it will be interesting to see whether anything changes after this.

shares
comments
Oriol Servia to complete IndyCar season with Panther
Previous article

Oriol Servia to complete IndyCar season with Panther

Next article

Juan Pablo Montoya would prove talent in IndyCar return - Ganassi

Juan Pablo Montoya would prove talent in IndyCar return - Ganassi
How Ericsson achieved Indy immortality as Ganassi's main man stumbled Plus

How Ericsson achieved Indy immortality as Ganassi's main man stumbled

Chip Ganassi Racing team was strong again in the Indianapolis 500, with poleman Scott Dixon and reigning champion Alex Palou leading almost three quarters of the race between them. But when dominator Dixon was penalised for pitlane speeding, ex-Formula 1 driver Marcus Ericsson stepped up to score the biggest win of his career and seize the IndyCar points lead

IndyCar
May 30, 2022
Ranking the top 10 IndyCar drivers of 2021 Plus

Ranking the top 10 IndyCar drivers of 2021

In an enthralling 2021 IndyCar campaign, the series bounced back from its COVID-19 truncated year prior and Alex Palou defeated both the established order and his fellow young guns to clinch a maiden title. It capped a remarkable season with plenty of standout performers

IndyCar
Nov 21, 2021
How F1's other IndyCar exile finally unlocked his potential Plus

How F1's other IndyCar exile finally unlocked his potential

Romain Grosjean's swashbuckling rookie year in IndyCar captured the imagination of many in 2021. But another ex-Formula 1 driver whose potential was masked by five years of toil in, at best, middling machinery also enjoyed a breakout year in 2021 - winning twice and finishing sixth in points. Here's how Marcus Ericsson finally delivered on his promise

IndyCar
Nov 16, 2021
How Ganassi's relentless new champion outfoxed IndyCar's best Plus

How Ganassi's relentless new champion outfoxed IndyCar's best

IndyCar sophomore Alex Palou stunned by overcoming team-mate Scott Dixon and the rest of a white-hot field in 2021. He was consistently fast and crucially showed a level head, rebounding well from setbacks to put himself in a near unassailable position entering the final round

IndyCar
Nov 4, 2021
Have Harvey and RLL formed IndyCar’s next winning match-up? Plus

Have Harvey and RLL formed IndyCar’s next winning match-up?

Despite appearing to have an IndyCar job for life with Meyer Shank Racing, Jack Harvey’s departure and move to Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing sparked plenty of debate. However, Harvey's and RLL's combined strengths could prove to be a winning combination - if they get the balance right

IndyCar
Oct 17, 2021
Remembering Dan Wheldon and his last and most amazing IndyCar win Plus

Remembering Dan Wheldon and his last and most amazing IndyCar win

Saturday 16 October marks the 10th anniversary of Dan Wheldon’s death. David Malsher-Lopez pays tribute, then asks Wheldon’s race engineer from 2011, Todd Malloy, to recall that magical second victory at the Indianapolis 500

IndyCar
Oct 16, 2021
Why Kyle Kirkwood is America's new IndyCar ace-in-waiting Plus

Why Kyle Kirkwood is America's new IndyCar ace-in-waiting

Kyle Kirkwood, the record-setting junior formula driver, sealed the Indy Lights championship last weekend. But despite an absurdly strong junior career and scholarship money, his next move is far from clear

IndyCar
Oct 6, 2021
Why IndyCar title glory is just the start for Ganassi's new star Plus

Why IndyCar title glory is just the start for Ganassi's new star

Newly-crowned IndyCar champion Alex Palou has been lauded as a complete driver and veteran-like in only his second season. The 24-year-old is still in the early days of his career, but the parallels are there for all to see with his six-time champion Chip Ganassi Racing team-mate who has been CGR's team leader since 2014

IndyCar
Sep 28, 2021