Daytona 24 Hours: Duval leads final practice from F1 exile Magnussen

Loic Duval's JDC-Miller Motorsports Cadillac edged to the top of the times by 0.012 seconds in final practice for the 2021 IMSA SportsCar Daytona 24 Hours

The top four cars - representing all three manufacturers involved in the DPi class - were covered by less than one-tenth of a second at the end of the one-hour session.

But it was JDC-Miller's new full-timer Duval who emerged on top with a 1m35.085s lap, beating Formula 1 exile Kevin Magnussen in the similar Ganassi Racing-run Cadillac DPi-V.R.

They were just hundredths ahead of Oliver Jarvis in the Mazda RT24-P that ran only five laps on Friday, having skipped almost all of Thursday night's practice while receiving scheduled maintenance of a new engine and gearbox.

Filipe Albuquerque drove the Wayne Taylor Racing Acura ARX-05 to just 0.053s off top spot.

PLUS: Nine things to look out for at the Daytona 24 Hours

The two Action Express Cadillacs of Pipo Derani and Kamui Kobayashi were 0.6s and 0.7s down respectively, with Dane Cameron completing the field in the Meyer Shank Racing Acura, but an unrepresentative 1.7s off the pace.

In LMP2, Nicolas Lapierre had a red flag-causing off at Turn 5 in the PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports ORECA (below), which has looked to have an edge in speed throughout practice.

That allowed John Farano to head the class in the Tower Motorsports by Starworks car, a tenth quicker than Ferdinand Habsburg in the High Class Racing entry and Tristan Nunez of WIN Autosport.

LMP3, as has come to be expected, was led by Jeroen Bleekemolen in the Riley Motorsports Ligier, while Rasmus Lindh finished the session in second for Performance Tech Motorsports.

Third went to the highest-placed Duqueine, that of Muelhner Motorsports and steered by Moritz Kranz.

Alessandro Pier Guidi slotted the Ferrari 488 of Risi Competizione marginally ahead of the WeatherTech Racing Proton Porsche 911 RSR to claim GTLM honours ahead of the Corvettes and BMWs.

The two Grasser Racing Lamborghini Huracans of Franck Perera and Mirko Bortolotti topped GTD, ahead of the AF Corse Ferrari 488 of Daniel Serra, while Richard Westbrook gave TF Sport's Aston Martin Vantage its most competitive showing of the week with fourth.

Pat Long was fifth in the Porsche 911 GT3 R of Wright Motorsports, ahead of the similar car of Team Hardpoint EBM, driven by Earl Bamber.

The 59th running of the Daytona 24 Hours begins at 3.40pm local time on Saturday.

Daytona 24 Hours final practice result

Pos Class Driver Team Gap
1 DPi T.Vautier, L.Duval, S.Bourdais JDC-Miller Motorsports 1m35.085s
2 DPi R.van der Zande, K.Magnussen, S.Dixon Cadillac Chip Ganassi Racing 0.012s
3 DPi O.Jarvis, H.Tincknell, J.Bomarito Mazda Motorsports 0.047s
4 DPi R.Taylor, F.Albuquerque, A.Rossi, H.Castroneves Konica Minolta Acura 0.053s
5 DPi F.Nasr, M.Conway, P.Derani, C.Elliott Whelen Engineering Racing 0.667s
6 DPi J.Johnson, K.Kobayashi, S.Pagenaud, M.Rockenfeller Ally Cadillac Racing 0.732s
7 LMP2 J.Farano, G.Aubry, T.Buret, M.Vaxiviere Tower Motorsport by Starworks 1.363s
8 LMP2 D.Andersen, F.Habsburg, A.Fjordbach, R.Kubica High Class Racing 1.487s
9 DPi D.Cameron, O.Pla, J.P.Montoya, A.Allmendinger Meyer Shank Racing with Curb-Agajanian 1.669s
10 LMP2 S.Thomas, T.Nunez, T.Merrill, M.Bell WIN Autosport 1.786s
11 LMP2 R.Hodes, G.Grist, R.Van Kalmthout, B.Hanley Dragonspeed USA 2.020s
12 LMP2 R.Lacorte, A.Fuoco, A.Belicchi, G.Sernagiotto Cetilar Racing 2.670s
13 LMP2 E.Lux, D.Defrancesco, F.Schiller, C.Mies Dragonspeed USA 2.807s
14 LMP2 D.Merriman, K.Tilley, R.Dalziel, P-L.Chatin Era Motorsport 3.019s
15 LMP2 C.Ware, S.Yoluc, A.Dillon, S.Muller RWR Eurasia 3.711s
16 LMP2 F.van Eerd, G.van der Garde, J.van Uitert, C.Milesi Racing Team Nederland 3.718s
17 LMP2 B.Keating, M.Jensen, S.Huffaker, N.Lapierre PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports 4.103s
18 GTLM J.Calado, A.P.Guidi, J.Gounon, D.Rigon Risi Competizione 7.499s
19 GTLM C.MacNeil, K.Estre, R.Lietz, G.Bruni WeatherTech Racing 7.518s
20 GTLM T.Milner, N.Tandy, A.Sims Corvette Racing 7.641s
21 GTLM C.De Phillippi, P.Eng, T.Glock, B.Spengler BMW Team RLL 7.825s
22 GTLM J.M.Edwards, J.Krohn, A.Farfus, M.Wittmann BMW Team RLL 7.835s
23 GTLM A.Garcia, J.Taylor, N.Catsburg Corvette Racing 7.937s
24 LMP3 J.Cox, D.Murry, A.McCusker, J.Bleekemolen Riley Motorsports 7.987s
25 LMP3 R.Lindh, C.Cassels, M.Llarena, A.Ori Performance Tech Motorsports 8.624s
26 LMP3 M.Kranz, L.Horr, K.Koch, S.McAleer Muehlner Motorsports America 9.115s
27 GTD M.Goikhberg, F.Perera, A.Costa, T.Zimmermann GRT Grasser Racing Team 10.498s
28 GTD R.Ineichen, M.Bortolotti, S.Schothorst, M.Mapelli GRT Grasser Racing Team 10.652s
29 GTD S.Mann, N.Nielsen, D.Serra, M.Cressoni AF Corse 10.902s
30 GTD M.Root, C.Eastwood, B.Keating, R.Westbrook TF Sport 10.926s
31 GTD T.Hindman, P.Long, J.Heylen, K.Bachler Wright Motorsports 11.009s
32 GTD R.Ferriol, E.Bamber, K.Legge, C.Nielsen Team Hardpoint EBM 11.326s
33 GTD B.Sellers, M.Snow, C.Lewis, A.Caldarelli Paul Miller Racing 11.340s
34 GTD R.Megennis, Z.Veach, T.Bell, F.Montecalvo Vasser Sullivan 11.390s
35 GTD J.Potter, A.Lally, S.Pumpelly, M.Farnbacher Magnus with Archangel 11.426s
36 GTD R.Ward, P.Ellis, I.Dontje, M.Engel Winward Racing 11.961s
37 GTD D.Morad, M.De Quesada, B.Johnson, M.Buhk Alegra Motorsports 11.976s
38 GTD Z.Robichon, L.Vanthoor, L.Kern, M.Campbell Pfaff Motorsports 12.188s
39 GTD B.Auberlen, R.Foley, A.Read, C.Herta Turner Motorsport 12.690s
40 GTD I.James, R.De Angelis, D.Turner, R.Gunn Heart of Racing Team 13.674s
41 LMP3 M.Kvamme, R.Norman, G.Chaves, T.Estep Forty7 Motorsports 13.724s
42 LMP3 G.Robinson, S.Pigot, S.Andrews, O.Askew Riley Motorsports 13.740s
43 LMP3 L.Willsey, J.Barbosa, W.Boyd, Y.Clairay Sean Creech Motorsport 28.812s
44 GTD A.Telitz, O.Gavin, K.Kirkwood, J.Hawksworth Vasser Sullivan -
45 GTD A.Metni, A.Davis, J.Hildebrand, D.Yount NTE Sport -
46 LMP3 J.Bennett, G.Kurtz, C.Braun, M.McMurry CORE Autosport -
47 GTD E.Jones, B.Curtis, R.Briscoe, M.Gomes Scuderia Corsa -
48 GTD T.Giovanis, O.Trinkler, H.Plumb, M.Plumb Team TGM -
49 GTD K.Habul, R.Marciello, M.Grenier, L.Stolz Sun Energy 1 -

Previous article Chip Ganassi Racing targets Le Mans 24 Hours return in LMDh era
Next article Remembering the 1990 Daytona 24 Hours: Jaguar's dominant 1-2