Gasly's Italian GP victory voted Autosport's Moment of the Year

Pierre Gasly's Formula 1 Italian Grand Prix victory for AlphaTauri has been voted Autosport's 2020 Moment of the Year presented by Marelli

In a dramatic F1 race, Gasly rose from 10th on the grid and took advantage of a rare mistake by Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes to move into the lead at Monza. The 24-year-old Frenchman then held off the charging McLaren on Carlos Sainz Jr to win by 0.4 seconds.

It was Gasly's maiden F1 win, on his 55th start, and was also the first win for a team other than Mercedes, Red Bull and Ferrari since 2013.

PLUS: How a "supernatural" adaption resurrected Gasly's F1 career

"A huge thanks for this award and the people that supported me," said Gasly. "I think the fact no one really expected us to be there [at the front] makes it a more powerful moment.

"You obviously plan for the best, but objectively we don't go to every weekend expecting to win.

"In the 18 months before the win I went through a lot and it was not an easy ride, for many different reasons. Many people could relate to getting a race win after that because everyone has highs and lows in their lives.

"In France it was huge. Not having a winner for 24 years - I was quite shocked about the impact it had there."

Autosport readers have voted the surprise victory as the best moment of 2020, ahead of KTM's first MotoGP success, Antonio Felix da Costa securing the Formula E crown, and Hamilton breaking Michael Schumacher's F1 wins record in the Portuguese GP.

The award is open to standout moments from international-level motorsport. Last year's winner was Jean-Eric Vergne becoming the first driver to take back-to-back Formula E titles.

The 2020 edition of the Autosport Awards is taking place online, with increased digital coverage, and continues the tradition of highlighting the best of the motorsport season.

Other categories include International Racing Driver of the Year presented by Pirelli, International Racing Car of the Year, International Rally Driver of the Year, Rally Car of the Year, British Competition Driver of the Year, Rider of the Year, Richard Mille Rookie of the Year, National Driver of the Year, and the Pioneering and Innovation Award presented by Mahindra.

The Esports Driver of the Year Award presented by Motorsport Games has also been introduced for 2020.

To find out which other winners Autosport readers have voted for, go to

Previous article DTM team makes prototype racing debut on record Asian Le Mans Series grid
Next article FIA to increase female representation in motorsport governance