Silverstone Formula V8 3.5: Pietro Fittipaldi wins second race

Pietro Fittipaldi completed his clean sweep of the opening Formula V8 3.5 weekend at Silverstone, taking an assured victory in the second race to add to yesterday's race one victory

As he did on Saturday, Fittipaldi started from pole and immediately set about building a cushion over Roy Nissany, who occupied second after Rene Binder sustained a poor start.

By the end of lap one, Fittipaldi was a massive 3.1 seconds ahead of the Israeli and continued to pull away from the RP Motorsport driver.

Fittipaldi maintained his lead after the mandatory pitstop phase, although this time was ahead of Egor Orudzhev after the Russian had jumped Nissany in the pits as the RP crew performed a slow stop.

Shortly after, the race was neutralised after a safety car was deployed for a collision between AVF's Matevos Isaakyan and Teo Martin's Nelson Mason at Brooklands.

Mason had attempted to pass Isaakyan around the outside in a carbon copy of his move on Binder a few laps prior, but Isaakyan clipped the Canadian and the two were out of the race.

Once the safety car had gone in, Fittipaldi made a good restart to break away from Orudzhev, keeping the gap steady at around two seconds.

The victory was put beyond doubt as Orudzhev locked up on the penultimate lap, losing a further second to Fittipaldi who dominated the Silverstone weekend.

Roy Nissany followed Fittipaldi and Orudzhev home to claim the final podium spot, ahead of former team-mate Binder.

Konstantin Tereshchenko finished 5th as top rookie, having been kept busy with a number of on-track battles, beating the Fortec pair of Alfonso Celis Jr and Diego Menchaca to the line.

Celis spent the time after the safety car hunting down Menchaca, eventually powering past his team-mate at Maggotts.

The Fortecs beat both Il Barone Rampante cars, who were the last classified finishers in 8th and 9th.

Fittipaldi leads the championship after the two races with 50 points, ahead of Celis with 26 points and Binder with 24 points.


Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Pietro Fittipaldi Lotus 41m50.035s
2 Egor Orudzhev SMP Racing by AVF 2.623s
3 Roy Nissany RP Motorsport 5.404s
4 Rene Binder Lotus 6.298s
5 Konstantin Tereschenko Teo Martin Motorsport 6.930s
6 Alfonso Celis Fortec Motorsports 7.913s
7 Diego Menchaca Fortec Motorsports 13.423s
8 Damiano Fioravanti Il Barone Rampante 14.077s
9 Giuseppe Cipriani Il Barone Rampante 29.837s
- Matevos Isaakyan SMP Racing by AVF Retirement


Silverstone Formula V8 3.5: Pietro Fittipaldi hangs on for win

Small FV8 3.5 grid in 2017 a warning to F1 ladder - Alguersuari