Jerez FV8 3.5: Orudzhev lands fourth win, Deletraz into points lead

Egor Orudzhev became the first driver to score four Formula V8 3.5 wins in 2016 as Louis Deletraz snatched the championship lead with second place in race two at Jerez

The Arden racer shot into contention thanks to a spectacular start, as he catapulted from fifth on the grid into the lead at Turn 1.

After soaking up pressure from polesitter Deletraz in the early laps, Orudzhev opted to take an earlier than planned mandatory pit stop on lap seven.

The Arden pit wall reacted to concerns that a safety car could be deployed, after its second driver Aurelien Panis retired in an awkward position on the grass verge on the pit straight.

Fortec provided tyre service for Deletraz three laps later at the conclusion of lap 10 but, despite some quick lap times, rejoined the track 2.4 seconds in arrears of his Russian adversary.

In the closing stages, the lead pair demonstrated markedly superior pace over their rivals, lapping one second a lap quicker.

Renault Sport Academy driver Deletraz came within 1.5s of Orudhzev's gearbox, but had to settle for second, two seconds back at the chequered flag.

Nevertheless, second moves Deletraz into the lead of the drivers' standings at the expense of AVF's Tom Dillmann - who could only finish eighth - ahead of the final round of the season at Barcelona next weekend.

Deletraz had a day earlier been demoted from fourth in the opening race for a collision with Dillmann, but with second moves a point clear of his rival with two races remaining.

SMP Racing's Matthieu Vaxiviere was a distant third, comfortably clear of a close scrap between debutant Jack Aitken and Beitske Visser, who enjoyed her best run of the season for Teo Martin Motorsport.

Aitken held out to clinch fourth by less than a second, while race one winner Matevos Isaakyan formed the third car in the 'Aitken Train' to complete the top six for SMP Racing.

After crashing in qualifying and starting from the last row, Rene Binder produced a strong performance to recover to seventh.

The Charouz-run Lotus racer was assisted by choosing a different pitstop strategy to his rivals, being the last runner to make his mandatory visit to the pits.

Long-time championship leader Dillmann salvaged eighth, having qualified 13th, but could not maintain his points advantage.

The Frenchman stated that he was considering using a new chassis for the Barcelona finale next weekend in a bid to address recent set-up difficulties.


Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Egor Orudzhev Arden Motorsport 42m07.482s -
2 Louis Deletraz Fortec Motorsports 42m09.501s 2.019s
3 Matthieu Vaxiviere SMP Racing 42m25.358s 17.876s
4 Jack Aitken RP Motorsport 42m27.788s 20.306s
5 Beitske Visser Teo Martin Motorsport 42m28.618s 21.136s
6 Matevos Isaakyan SMP Racing 42m30.040s 22.558s
7 Rene Binder Lotus 42m38.924s 31.442s
8 Tom Dillmann AVF 42m46.235s 38.753s
9 Alfonso Celis AVF 42m50.030s 42.548s
10 Yu Kanamaru Teo Martin Motorsport 42m50.665s 43.183s
11 Vitor Baptista RP Motorsport 42m58.055s 50.573s
12 Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec Motorsports 43m01.271s 53.789s
13 Tom Randle Comtec Racing 43m04.163s 56.681s
14 Roy Nissany Lotus 43m16.028s 1m08.546s
15 Giuseppe Cipriani Durango Racing Team 42m18.429s 1 Lap
- Aurelien Panis Arden Motorsport 6m31.551s Retirement

Previous article Jerez FV8 3.5: Deletraz edges Aitken for second pole of season
Next article Formula V8 3.5 contenders on seven-way title decider