Formula E boss Alejandro Agag targets 18 races for future seasons

Formula E boss Alejandro Agag has aspirations for the series to grow to up to 18 rounds in future seasons

Agag has announced that he wants the Formula E Championship to expand steadily from the nine dates of its inaugural 2014/15 schedule, starting with a 12-event calendar in season two.

"For year two we are already planning at least two additions, and we want to grow slowly to get to a figure of around 18 races per year," he said.

Agag revealed that interest from host cities had mushroomed since the opening round of the inaugural season in Beijing.

"We are talking to many cities; after Beijing we probably received requests from 40 or 50 cities from all over the world to host a race, so that's been really positive," he explained.

This year's championship has ended up with nine events, but the possibility exists for one of the final three European events in Monte Carlo, Berlin or London to expand into a two-day double-header event to bring the number of races up to 10.

The planned growth of the series will be accompanied by a freeing up of the technical regulations: teams and manufacturers will be able to develop their own powertrains from season two and their own batteries from season three.

The regulations in theory allow for development of the Spark-Renault SRT_01E car from season two, but there is a gentleman's agreement with the teams that their resources will be focused on the powertrains.

Previous article Battersea Formula E race moves a step closer after council vote
Next article Battersea Formula E circuit a 'mini-Macau' - Lucas di Grassi