BTCC Knockhill: Sutton takes victory in rain-affected second race

Subaru Levorg racer Ash Sutton won the second British Touring Car Championship race of the day at Knockhill after heading the field home in a shortened rain-affected race

Team BMR man Sutton led from pole position ahead of Colin Turkington and Andrew Jordan but the race was immediately neutralised after an accident involving AmD Tuning Audi S3 driver Ollie Jackson.

Sutton controlled the restart as Turkington was the first to fall foul of the conditions when he slid wide at the top of Duffus Dip on lap 10 of the scheduled 24.

His error allowed Jordan into second place, and things got worse for Turkington when Ingram overhauled him at the hairpin on the next lap.

There was another long safety car period to remove the cars of Tom Oliphant and Carl Boardley from the gravel traps.

When the event restarted it only lasted one more tour. In that lap, Ingram managed to dive down the inside of Jordan going into Duffus Dip to grab second spot.

Next time around, Sam Smelt went into the tyres in his AmD Audi and the red flags flew.

Sutton said: "That was a long race. There was a lot of standing water and I was just controlling the pace. I didn't want to push too hard and slip up.

"I could see Ingram in second place, but I had set my fastest lap when he was behind me, and I could have gone harder if I had wanted to."

Ingram said he had no chance of catching the leader: "We simply didn't have the same pace.

But I was pleased with how our car behaved and once you take the success ballast out of the Toyota, it comes alive. I would have been happy to race on."

Behind Jordan, Josh Cook took fourth place in the Power Maxed Racing Vauxhall Astra ahead of Dan Cammish (Team Dynamics Honda Civic Type R) and the recovering Turkington.

There was a glimmer of hope for Turkington though, as the number six was drawn out of the hat for the reversed-grid third race.

NEWS UPDATE: Jordan given win as Sutton/Ingram excluded

Revised race result

Pos Driver Team Car Laps Gap
1 Andrew Jordan WSR BMW 20 24m12.823s
2 Josh Cook Power Maxed Racing Vauxhall 20 1.222s
3 Dan Cammish Team Dynamics Honda 20 1.835s
4 Colin Turkington WSR BMW 20 2.577s
5 Adam Morgan Ciceley Motorsport Mercedes 20 3.077s
6 Tom Chilton Motorbase Ford 20 3.659s
7 Rory Butcher AmD Tuning MG 20 4.305s
8 Jack Goff Eurotech Racing Honda 20 6.981s
9 Rob Austin HMS Racing Alfa Romeo 20 7.653s
10 Chris Smiley BTC Norlin Honda 20 8.239s
11 Sam Tordoff Motorbase Ford 20 8.586s
12 Ricky Collard WSR BMW 20 8.913s
13 Aiden Moffat Laser Tools Racing Mercedes 20 9.413s
14 Daniel Lloyd BTC Norlin Honda 20 10.083s
15 Glynn Geddie AmD Tuning MG 20 10.522s
16 Senna Proctor Power Maxed Racing Vauxhall 20 11.107s
17 Matt Neal Team Dynamics Honda 20 11.755s
18 James Cole Motorbase Ford 20 12.219s
19 Brett Smith Eurotech Racing Honda 20 12.585s
20 Matt Simpson Simpson Racing Honda 20 14.839s
21 Ollie Pidgley Team Hard Volkswagen 20 16.001s
- Ash Sutton Team BMR Subaru 20 Disqualified
- Tom Ingram Speedworks Toyota 20 Disqualified
- Sam Smelt AmD Tuning Audi 20 Retirement
- Jason Plato Team BMR Subaru 20 Retirement
- Bobby Thompson Team Hard Volkswagen 17 Retirement
- Mike Bushell Team Hard Volkswagen 17 Retirement
- Tom Oliphant Ciceley Motorsport Mercedes 10 Retirement
- Stephen Jelley Team Parker Racing BMW 10 Retirement
- Carl Boardley Team Hard Volkswagen 6 Retirement
- Ollie Jackson AmD Tuning Audi 0 Retirement

Previous article Knockhill BTCC: Ash Sutton charges from eighth to win in wet
Next article Knockhill BTCC: Jordan gets win as Sutton and Ingram excluded