Andrew Jordan leads Snetterton British Touring Car Championship practice

Andrew Jordan topped the first free practice session since the mid-season British Touring Car break at Snetterton on Saturday morning

Although the works cars of Jason Plato (MG) and Gordon Shedden (Honda) set the initial pace, Eurotech Honda Civic driver Jordan soon moved to the front. He set several quick times, with the best standing at 1m58.431s.

Shedden made it an NGTC Honda one-two, but finished the session with his car on fire in the pitlane, while team-mate Matt Neal left it late to set a representative time and ended up fifth.

Plato was the only other driver to break the 1m59s barrier in third, while top S2000 runner was Tom Onslow-Cole in his WSR BMW in fourth. His 1m59.466s effort was 0.8 seconds ahead of the next best S2000 machine and a second quicker than team-mate Rob Collard as the NGTCs dominated.

Fellow NGTC runners Adam Morgan, Rob Austin, Dan Welch, Jeff Smith and Frank Wrathall rounded out the top 10.

BTCC newcomer Rob Holland was 17th in the Tony Gilham Racing/Team Hard Honda Civic, with Gilham himself 19th in the Hard/Thorney Motorsport-run Vauxhall Insignia.

Mat Jackson took Motorbase's brand new NGTC Ford Focus out on track for the first time, but was outside the top 20 as his team worked on understanding the car.

Pos  Driver           Team/Car           Time       Gap
 1.  Andrew Jordan    Eurotech Honda     1m58.431s
 2.  Gordon Shedden   Honda              1m58.984s  + 0.553s
 3.  Jason Plato      MG                 1m58.994s  + 0.563s
 4.  Tom Onslow-Cole  WSR BMW            1m59.466s  + 1.035s
 5.  Matt Neal        Honda              1m59.573s  + 1.142s
 6.  Adam Morgan      Speedworks Toyota  1m59.930s  + 1.499s
 7.  Rob Austin       Austin Audi        2m00.030s  + 1.599s
 8.  Daniel Welch     Welch Proton       2m00.036s  + 1.605s
 9.  Jeff Smith       Eurotech Honda     2m00.084s  + 1.653s
10.  Frank Wrathall   Dynojet Toyota     2m00.245s  + 1.814s
11.  Lea Wood         Central Vauxhall   2m00.470s  + 2.039s
12.  Rob Collard      WSR BMW            2m00.472s  + 2.041s
13.  Aron Smith       Motorbase Ford     2m00.518s  + 2.087s
14.  Nick Foster      WSR BMW            2m00.599s  + 2.168s
15.  Dave Newsham     ES Vauxhall        2m00.744s  + 2.313s
16.  Chris James      ES Vauxhall        2m01.911s  + 3.480s
17.  Robb Holland     Gilham Honda       2m02.333s  + 3.902s
18.  Andy Neate       MG                 2m02.684s  + 4.253s
19.  Tony Gilham      Thorney Vauxhall   2m03.313s  + 4.882s
20.  Ollie Jackson    AmD Volkswagen     2m03.421s  + 4.990s
21.  Tony Hughes      Speedworks Toyota  2m04.000s  + 5.569s
22.  Mat Jackson      Motorbase Ford     2m04.900s  + 6.469s
Previous article BTCC Underdogs: Collard and WSR
Next article Motorbase gives new NGTC Ford Snetterton British Touring Car debut