Mugello Auto GP: Karthikeyan claims second consecutive pole

Narain Karthikeyan has taken his second consecutive Auto GP pole position at Mugello

Mugello Auto GP: Karthikeyan claims second consecutive pole

The Indian, also fastest in Friday free practice, edged out Kevin Giovesi by just 0.035 seconds.

Ghinzani racer Giovesi had caused a stir by taking an on-the-road win at Silverstone on his Auto GP debut, but was then stripped of victory for incurring a pitlane infringement, handing a maiden Auto GP win to Karthikeyan.

Giovesi demoted Karthikeyan's Super Nova team-mate Vittorio Ghirelli from provisional pole with five minutes of Mugello's half hour session remaining.

In doing so he became the first driver to break under the 1m35s barrier in the session, although he was soon joined by Karthikeyan as the session came alive.

Ghirelli responded to recover a provisional front row starting position for this afternoon's race, only for former Jordan and HRT Formula 1 driver Karthikeyan to produce a lap of 1m34.513s moments before the chequered flag.

The lap secured Karthikeyan his second pole of the season. The Indian has reduced his points deficit to the top-three in the drivers' standings after switching from Zele Racing to Super Nova International prior to the Silverstone meeting.

Double 2013 victor Sergio Campana, whose participation at Mugello had been in doubt owing to budget pressures, made it three Italians in the top-four.

The former Italian Formula 3 champion will start one place ahead of championship leader Kimiya Sato.

The Japanese, who will test for Sauber at Silverstone's F1 young driver test, jumped GP3 race-winner Robert Visoiu for fifth in the closing minutes of the session.

Auto GP debutant Christian Klien lines up in 10th.

The former Jaguar, Red Bull and HRT F1 driver is contesting his first single-seater race in three years and is also competing at Mugello for the first time.

Pos Driver Team/Car Time Gap 1. Narain Karthikeyan Super Nova 1m34.583s 2. Kevin Giovesi Ghinzani 1m34.618s +0.035s 3 Vittorio Ghirelli Super Nova 1m34.757s +0.174s 4. Sergio Campana Ibiza 1m35.283s +0.700s 5. Kimiya Sato Euronova 1m35.525s +0.942s 6 Robert Visoiu Ghinzani 1m35.603s +1.020s 7. Andrea Roda Virtuosi UK 1m35.608s +1.025s 8. Meindert van Buuren Manor MP 1m35.763s +1.180s 9. Tamas Pal Kiss Zele 1m35.791s +1.208s 10. Christian Klien Zele 1m35.831s +1.248s 11. Daniel de Jong Manor MP 1m36.549s +1.966s 12. Maxim Snegirev Virtuosi UK 1m36.610s +2.027s 13. Francesco Dracone Ibiza 1m36.777s +2.194s 14. Yoshitaka Kuroda Euronova 1m36.927s +2.344s 15. Michele La Rosa MLR 71 1m38.145s +3.562s 

Mugello Auto GP: Karthikeyan on top in practice
Previous article

Mugello Auto GP: Karthikeyan on top in practice

Next article

AutoGP weighing up rejoining WTCC package in 2014

AutoGP weighing up rejoining WTCC package in 2014