Volvo's Catsburg takes WTCC lead with Nurburgring Nordschleife win

Polestar Volvo's Nicky Catsburg surged into the World Touring Car Championship lead with victory in Nurburgring Nordschleife finale, as Tiago Monteiro's race one damage ruined his day

Volvo's Catsburg takes WTCC lead with Nurburgring Nordschleife win

Catsburg deposed polesitter Michelisz from the lead after starting alongside him, but the privateer Citroen of Rob Huff ran side by side with the Volvo initially.

The two touched on the entry into the first corner, with Huff almost pitched into a spin and allowing Michelisz back into second.

Michelisz's Honda was running with 70kg ballast as opposed to Catsburg's maximum amount of 80kg but the Volvo had the edge on pace and pulled clear.

With Michelisz unable to provide a challenge and playing an unlikely rear-gunner to the race leader, Catsburg bolted clear to win by over three seconds and take the championship lead.

Monteiro was forced to start from the pitlane as the repairs following his race one puncture went beyond the time limit and he could only finish 13th after battling through the European Touring Car Championship field.

Huff made it a double podium in third, having had to hold off a late challenge from race one winner Thed Bjork as a train of cars grew behind him.

Tom Chilton finished behind the Volvo in fifth, leaving Mehdi Bennani to a lonely sixth place.

There was an all Chevrolet battle for seventh with ROAL's Tom Coronel narrowly holding off the Campos Racing-run car of Esteban Guerrieri in a close moment at the Mini Karussell.

Ninth fell to Yann Ehrlacher after he slipstreamed his way past the Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen of John Filippi.

Polesitter for race one Nestor Girolami did not take part, with car damage following his crash in the reversed grid opener ruling him out.


Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Nicky Catsburg Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo 26m20.680s
2 Norbert Michelisz Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 3.065s
3 Rob Huff Munnich Motorsport Citroen 3.401s
4 Thed Bjork Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo 4.167s
5 Tom Chilton Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 5.763s
6 Mehdi Bennani Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 11.239s
7 Tom Coronel ROAL Motorsport Chevrolet 14.614s
8 Esteban Guerrieri Campos Racing Chevrolet 14.939s
9 Yann Ehrlacher RC Motorsport Lada 20.540s
10 John Filippi Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroen 21.928s
11 Kevin Gleason RC Motorsport Lada 24.245s
12 Aurelien Panis Zengo Motorsport Honda 29.600s
13 Tiago Monteiro Honda Racing Team JAS Honda 43.108s
- Daniel Nagy Zengo Motorsport Honda Retirement
- Ryo Michigami Honda Racing Team JAS Honda Retirement
- Nestor Girolami Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo Withdrawn


Pos Driver Points
1 Nicky Catsburg 127
2 Tiago Monteiro 125
3 Thed Bjork 119
4 Tom Chilton 106
5 Rob Huff 102
6 Mehdi Bennani 101
7 Norbert Michelisz 96
8 Esteban Guerrieri 76
9 Nestor Girolami 52
10 Tom Coronel 31
11 Yann Ehrlacher 14
12 John Filippi 9
13 Kevin Gleason 2
14 Aurelien Panis 2
15 Ryo Michigami 1
16 Daniel Nagy 1


Nurburgring Nordschleife WTCC: Bjork wins opener for Polestar Volvo

Yokohama defends WTCC tyres after Nurburgring Nordschleife problems