Muller Wins Round One in Monza

BMW's Dirk Muller has claimed a historic first win the new World Touring Car Championship, winning a dominant race from pole

Muller Wins Round One in Monza

Muller led from the front, edging away from the rest of the field, headed by Alfa Romeo's Gabriele Tarquini, lap by lap while looking untouchable all the way to the flag.

Behind the pair there was a frenetic battle for third, with Alfa's Augustus Farfus using every inch of the track to keep a hard charging Andy Priaulx behind him and off the podium, eventually crossing the line a mere one tenth of a second apart after nine laps.

Behind the pair Antonio Garcia, who started from second after teammate Jorg Muller was penalised for an infringement in qualifying, was having a drama filled start to his season, having damaged his car in the warm up session and giving his crew plenty to do to get the car onto the grid.

After losing a position to Tarquini at the start of the race Garcia was then tapped by Farfus on lap three, running wide but bringing his car back on track, albeit two places down the order.

Alfa drivers Fabrizio Giovanardi and James Thompson has a fierce fight with the SEAT's of Rickard Rydell and Jordi Gene, crossing the line just over a second apart to round out the points.

At the back of the pack, Jorg Muller had a torrid time of it, dropping down the pack with an evil looking car from eighteenth on the grid to last, losing a lap to teammate Dirk Muller in the process.

2005 FIA World Touring Car Championship, Monza - Race One

Pos Driver               Make                Time         Gap      Laps
 1. Dirk Muller          BMW 320i            18:03.203             9
 2. Gabriele Tarquini    Alfa Romeo 156      18:05.668  +   2.465  9
 3. Augusto Farfus Jr.   Alfa Romeo 156      18:07.057  +   3.854  9
 4. Andy Priaulx         BMW 320i            18:07.180  +   3.977  9
 5. Antonio Garcia       BMW 320i            18:11.291  +   8.088  9
 6. Fabrizio Giovanardi  Alfa Romeo 156      18:11.451  +   8.248  9
 7. James Thompson       Alfa Romeo 156      18:12.113  +   8.910  9
 8. Rickard Rydell       SEAT Toledo Cupra   18:12.395  +   9.192  9
 9. Jordi Gene           SEAT Toledo Cupra   18:12.617  +   9.414  9
10. Alessandro Zanardi   BMW 320i            18:18.046  +  14.843  9
11. Peter Terting        SEAT Toledo Cupra   18:19.245  +  16.042  9
12. Roberto Colciago     Honda Accord Euro   18:23.644  +  20.441  9
13. Marc Hennerici       BMW 320i            18:25.022  +  21.819  9
14. Tomas Engstrom       Honda Accord Euro   18:29.599  +  26.396  9
15. Tom Coronel          Seat Toledo Cupra   18:29.774  +  26.571  9
16. Stefano D'aste       BMW 320i            18:30.040  +  26.837  9
17. Salvatore Tavano     Alfa Romeo 156      18:35.030  +  31.827  9
18. Alessandro Balzan    SEAT Toledo Cupra   18:36.680  +  33.477  9
19. Andrea Larini        Alfa Romeo 156      18:40.914  +  37.711  9
20. Robert Huff          Chevrolet Lacetti   18:40.923  +  37.720  9
21. Andriano De Micheli  Honda Accord Euro   18:47.117  +  43.914  9
22. Alain Menu           Chevrolet Lacetti   18:47.574  +  44.371  9
23. Gianluca De Lorenzi  BMW 320i            18:48.030  +  44.827  9
24. Nicola Larini        Chevrolet Lacetti   18:48.970  +  45.767  9
25. Adam Lacko           Alfa Romeo 156 Gta  18:52.844  +  49.641  9
26. Jens Hellstrom       Honda Civic Type-R  19:01.199  +  57.996  9
27. Stefano Valli        BMW 320i            19:01.566  +  58.363  9
28. Thomas Jager         Ford Focus          19:08.443  +1:05.240  9
29. Jorg Muller          BMW 320i            19:22.138  +   1 LAP  8

 Not Classified
    Thomas Klenke        Ford Focus           8:33.895    D.N.F.
    Valle Makela         Seat Toledo Cupra    8:42.412    D.N.F.
    Giuseppe Ciro        BMW 320i                    0    D.N.F.

 Fastest Lap
    Dirk Muller       BMW 320i    1:59.552
Post Qualifying Selected Quotes - Monza
Previous article

Post Qualifying Selected Quotes - Monza

Next article

Thompson Storms to Monza Win

Thompson Storms to Monza Win
Why joker laps are entering the mainstream Plus

Why joker laps are entering the mainstream

This season the World Touring Car Championship looks certain to bring joker laps to a circuit-racing world championship for the first time. And it need not be the daft gimmick people may think

Apr 6, 2017
The making of the world's best tin-top driver Plus

The making of the world's best tin-top driver

He has been overshadowed at Citroen for the last three seasons, but the retirement of Yvan Muller means the world says farewell to one of touring-car racing's finest talents

Sep 26, 2016
Volvo's plan to conquer the WTCC Plus

Volvo's plan to conquer the WTCC

Volvo gave the World Touring Car Championship a major boost when it announced it would enter the series, but its ambitions don't stop there. JACK COZENS examines its programme, the S60 and what its arrival means for the WTCC

Jan 18, 2016
The WTCC's Nordschleife gamble paid off Plus

The WTCC's Nordschleife gamble paid off

A 17-car field on a 13-mile track - the WTCC's Nurburgring Nordschleife gamble wasn't going to be easy to pull off. STUART CODLING explains how the series made it work

May 20, 2015
Insight from a Nordschleife master Plus

Insight from a Nordschleife master

World championship racing returns to the Nordschleife this weekend. STUART CODLING got a lesson from one of the legendary track's few masters

May 15, 2015
Becoming world champion for £100k Plus

Becoming world champion for £100k

The 2012 World Touring Car champion says he never had the money to race cars. Yet 2015 is his 11th season in the WTCC. He talks STUART CODLING through his journey from motorsport fan to paid professional - for little more than £100,000

Mar 23, 2015
Can the vanquished champion bounce back? Plus

Can the vanquished champion bounce back?

The World Touring Car Championship kicks off in Argentina this weekend, and Yvan Muller bids to reclaim his throne from Citroen team-mate Jose Maria Lopez. He talks to STUART CODLING

Mar 6, 2015
The top 10 WTCC drivers of 2014 Plus

The top 10 WTCC drivers of 2014

Citroen had no rivals during the 2014 World Touring Car Championship, and 'rookie' Jose Maria Lopez hit the ground running to emerge as a worthy champion. PETER MILLS rates the field

Dec 3, 2014